The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Friday 28 August, 2015

13 Clare players nominated for 2013 GAA/GPA hurling Allstars

Cork, Dublin, Limerick, Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford also have players nominated this year.

Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

13 CLARE PLAYERS have been nominated for the 2013 GAA-GPA Hurling Allstar awards.

The recently crowned All-Ireland champions lead the way in the nominations list of 45 players for the Opel-sponsored awards.

Beaten finalists Cork have nine nominations which is matched by the number for Leinster champions Dublin.

There are seven Limerick players nominated, four from Kilkenny, two from Waterford and a solitary representative from Wexford.

Interestingly there are only 13 of last year’s nominees included in this year’s list with Anthony Nash, Paul Murphy, Brendan Bugler and Kevin Moran the only members of the 2012 Allstar team nominated on this occasion.

Gary Maguire, Murphy, Liam Rushe and Richie Hogan are the only nominees from the 2011 Allstar team to be up for an award this year.

The final selection will be made on Wednesday November 6th before the team are presented with their awards two days later at a banquet at Croke Park.

The Hurler of the Year nominations are Clare duo Tony Kelly and Padraic Collins, along with Cork’s Anthony Nash.

Kelly and Collins are both in line for the Young Hurler of the Year award along with Clare’s David McInerney.


Clare’s Tony Kelly
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

The nominations list in full is:

Goalkeepers: Anthony Nash (Cork); Patrick Kelly (Clare), Gary Maguire (Dublin).

Full-Backs: David McInerney (Clare), Domhnall O’Donovan (Clare), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Tom Condon (Limerick), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Shane O’Neill (Cork), Conor O’Sullivan (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Tomás Waters (Wexford).

Half-Backs: Brendan Bugler (Clare), Patrick Donnellan (Clare), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Michael Carton (Dublin), Brian Murphy (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick), Gavin O’Mahony (Limerick), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Midfield: Conor Ryan (Clare), Colm Galvin (Clare), Joey Boland (Dublin), Paul Browne (Limerick), Daniel Kearney (Cork), Kevin Moran (Waterford).

Half-Forwards: Tony Kelly (Clare), John Conlon (Clare), Colin Ryan (Clare), Seamus Harnedy (Cork), Patrick Cronin (Cork), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin), James Ryan (Limerick), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny).

Full-Forwards: Padraic Collins (Clare), Conor McGrath (Clare), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor Lehane (Cork), Paul Ryan (Dublin), David O’Callaghan (Dublin), Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny).

World’s most northerly Gaelic football game fixed for near Arctic Circle

Shane O’Donnell eligible for Cork club game but he’s going to sit it out

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

Add New Comment