The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 29 November, 2015


# afl - Monday 23 November, 2015

Opinion: AFL players can’t bully Gaelic footballers any more

Naive Australian tactics were costly on a positive night for international rules series.

# afl - Sunday 22 November, 2015

Paddy McBrearty ended up in hospital after this hefty collision with a Croke Park goalpost

McBrearty sustained shoulder and kidney injuries during the International Rules test.

Kernan says International Rules series is ‘alive and well’ after ‘one of the best wins’ yet

Ireland defeated Australia last night at Croke Park.

# afl - Saturday 21 November, 2015

AS IT HAPPENED: Ireland v Australia, International Rules Series

It was a one-off clash at GAA HQ this evening.

# afl - Friday 20 November, 2015

Here’s everything you need to know about Saturday’s International Rules Test at Croke Park

Ireland and Australia are preparing for battle at GAA HQ.

# afl - Thursday 19 November, 2015

Tipperary’s Colin O’Riordan has given his first interview since moving Down Under

“It’s a new game and I want to show everyone I can adapt to it.”

# afl - Friday 30 October, 2015

This Irish star has agreed a new two-year deal with AFL giants Carlton

Louth native Ciaran Byrne has signed on the dotted line.

# afl - Wednesday 28 October, 2015

Another Irish teenager is heading to the AFL

Derry minor captain Conor Glass has joined champions Hawthorn.

# afl - Saturday 10 October, 2015

Tipperary lose Colin O’Riordan as dual star signs AFL contract

Darragh Joyce, meanwhile, is hopeful of securing a deal in Australia too.

# afl - Saturday 3 October, 2015

Hawthorn win third Australian Football League title in a row

It was the hottest AFL grand final ever.

# afl - Tuesday 29 September, 2015

# afl - Wednesday 23 September, 2015

# afl - Wednesday 9 September, 2015

Two more young GAA stars headed to Aussie Rules

Colin O’Riordan Tipp and Darragh Joyce of Kilkenny are off to Melbourne in October.

# afl - Wednesday 26 August, 2015

Another Irish teenager is set to make his AFL debut in Melbourne next Saturday

Tyrone’s Conor McKenna has got the nod from Essendon.

# afl - Sunday 16 August, 2015

Aussie Rules player sneaks in for a goal while everyone else watches a scrap Play To The Whistle This post contains videos

Aussie Rules player sneaks in for a goal while everyone else watches a scrap

Rory Lobb wasn’t waiting around.

# afl - Sunday 2 August, 2015

# afl - Tuesday 28 July, 2015

Cork’s Ciaran Sheehan won’t return to Aussie Rules action with Carlton until 2016

Sheehan has struggled with injury this year.

# afl - Wednesday 22 July, 2015

Another month out injured from AFL action with Carlton for Louth’s Byrne and Cork’s Sheehan

Ciaran Byrne will miss out for another month with a hamstring injury.

# afl - Sunday 12 July, 2015

Mayo’s Pearce Hanley scores on landmark AFL appearance

The Irish star could not prevent his side from losing, however.

# afl - Saturday 11 July, 2015

‘I was drunk my first two years’ Pearce Hanley speaks ahead of 100th AFL game

The former Mayo footballer is reaching a landmark day in his career.

# afl - Tuesday 7 July, 2015

Mayo’s Pearce Hanley could achieve an AFL milestone with the Brisbane Lions next Sunday

Hanley joined the Brisbane Lions in 2007 and has made huge progress since then.

# afl - Friday 3 July, 2015

A top Aussie Rules head coach was stabbed to death and his son’s been charged with murder AFL

# afl - Tuesday 19 May, 2015

Cork’s Ciaran Sheehan could miss the rest of the Aussie Rules season with Carlton

There’s been an injury setback for the 24 year-old in his Carlton career.

# afl - Tuesday 28 April, 2015

The injury woes continue for Irish players in the 2015 AFL season

Ciaran Byrne has suffered a ‘devastating’ setback with Carlton.

# afl - Saturday 25 April, 2015

# afl - Thursday 23 April, 2015

From The Daily Edge This guy got owned by a woman on flexcam, and it’s delighting the internet Get The Guns Out

Blow for Louth’s Ciaran Byrne after promising start to AFL career

There’s better news for Zach Tuohy though.

# afl - Tuesday 21 April, 2015

‘I could just see in his eyes there was no fear’ – praise for Louth’s Ciaran Byrne after AFL debut

Carlton coach Mick Malthouse was impressed by the 20 year-old’s fearless attitude.

# afl - Saturday 18 April, 2015

Ciaran Byrne makes Carlton debut to become latest Irish star of Aussie Rules AFL

Ciaran Byrne makes Carlton debut to become latest Irish star of Aussie Rules

The Blues were involved in a fiery encounter at the MCG.

# afl - Friday 17 April, 2015

Louth parents fly 16,000km to see their son make his AFL debut in Melbourne tomorrow

Ciaran ‘Casey’ Byrne will line out for Carlton in the early hours of tomorrow morning against Essendon.

# afl - Thursday 16 April, 2015

Great news as another Irish player will make his AFL debut this weekend

Louth’s Ciaran Byrne has been named to start for Carlton Blues.

# afl - Friday 10 April, 2015

Irish player Tuohy kicks ‘sensational goal’ but Carlton fall to heavy AFL defeat in Perth

Carlton crashed to a 131-62 loss against the West Coast Eagles.

# afl - Thursday 9 April, 2015

Another Irish player is set to make his Aussie Rules debut for Carlton this year

Louth’s Ciaran Byrne has been been upgraded from the rookie list.

# afl - Thursday 2 April, 2015

Laois man Zach Tuohy kicked a monster goal but Carlton lost their season opener today

Carlton took on Richmond in the opening game of the 2015 AFL season.

# afl - Tuesday 31 March, 2015

34 AFL players cleared as anti-doping tribunal ‘not comfortably satisfied’ they cheated

Past and present Essendon players were found not guilty of taking a banned substance.

Cork’s Sheehan to miss Carlton AFL opener – Mayo’s Hanley off crutches to start rehab

The 2015 AFL season starts this week and here’s the injury news concerning Irish players.

Kernan, Ó Sé, Joyce and Earley to form new Irish International Rules management team

Armagh’s Joe Kernan has taken the main role.

# afl - Wednesday 25 March, 2015

Boost for Ciaran Sheehan’s Carlton AFL career as he’s listed under the nominated rookie rule

Sheehan made his debut for Carlton last August.

# afl - Thursday 19 March, 2015

Tadhg Kennelly hailed for Aussie Rules career as he enters Sydney Swans Hall of Fame

Kennelly’s career was recognised on Wednesday night.

1 2 3 4 5