The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 21 May, 2018

Mighty Quinn the key as Vincent's book Leinster final spot

Just the 1-8 for Quinn against Summerhill today.

Mossy Quinn celebrates his goal.
Mossy Quinn celebrates his goal.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

St Vincent’s 1-14
Summer Hill 1-10

TOMAS QUINN SHOT a stunning 1-8 as St Vincent’s showed their determined streak again to reach the AIB Leinster club football final.

The Dublin champions braved a second-half fight-back from the Meath men to secure a return to the provincial final in a fortnight’s time.

Former Dublin forward Quinn led the line, booting 1-3 in the first-half and adding another five points after the break to shake off stubborn Summerhill who finished with 14 men.

It was another impressive win from the Marino outfit who required two punishing games to overcome holders Ballymun Kickhams in the county final.

Then they beat Westmeath champions St Loman’s despite the absence of Diamuid Connolly and an early red card for Ger Brennan.

Both those Dublin players were banned for this tie too but Quinn picked up the slack.

Summerhill started brightly and led 0-6 to 0-3 after 23 minutes thanks in part to 0-3 from free-taker Brian Ennis.

But a Quinn goal when he drifted across goals and shot a low, left footed shot past Tony McDonnell hauled Vincent’s back and restored parity.

He added three more points including two from play to give them a 1-7 to 0-6 half-time advantage.

The margin was out to six points after 36 points though a storming Summerhill revival at least made a game of it.

Paul Rispin flicked home a goal and points from Sean Dalton, Adrian Kenny and Conor Gillespie helped them cut the deficit to just one.

But a strong Vins finish and two more Quinn points allowed the hosts to pull clear. Summerhill’s Stephen Husband received a second booking at the death.

Scorers for St Vincent’s: Tomas Quinn 1-8 (0-3f, 0-1 ’45), Gavin Burke 0-2, Ruairi Trainor 0-2, Shane Carthy 0-1, Eamon Fennell 0-1
Scorers for Summerhill: Paul Rispin 1-0, Brian Ennis 0-3 (0-3f), Conor Gillespie 0-2, Sean Dalton 0-2, Davy Larkin 0-1, Adrian Kenny 0-1, Micheal Byrne 0-1 (0-1f)

St Vincent’s: Dermot Jordan; Kevin Bonnie, Jarlath Curley, Hugh Gill; Cameron Diamond, Brendan Egan, Michael Concarr; Daithi Murphy, Eamon Fennell; Gavin Burke, Ruairi Trainor, Shane Carthy; Adam Baxter, Ciaran Dorney, Tomas Quinn.

Subs: Kevin Golden for Baxter (38), Tiernan Diamond for Dorney (50), N Mullins for Burke (53).

Summerhill: Tony McDonnell; Davy Dalton, Caolan Young, Willie Ryan; Padraig Geraghty, Alan Lyons, Stephen Husband; Micheal Byrne, Conor Gillespie; Adrian Kenny, Brian Ennis, Davy Larkin; Sean Dalton, Barry Dardis, Paul Rispin.

Subs: Richie Hatton for Lyons (24), Stephen Kennedy for Dardis (56), P Jennings for Geraghty (60).

Referee: E Kinsella (Laois).

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel