The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 26 April, 2018

Joyce returns for Cork hurlers from cruciate injury for first time in 11 months

Cork take on Galway on Sunday.

Christopher Joyce being wheeled off the pitch after tearing his cruciate against Dublin last year.
Christopher Joyce being wheeled off the pitch after tearing his cruciate against Dublin last year.

CHRISTOPHER JOYCE RETURNS to the Cork starting side on Sunday for the first time since tearing his cruciate ligament in a league game last March.

Joyce suffered the season-ending injury in action against Dublin in Croke Park last year.

But he returns to the Rebel side at full-back for Sunday’s game against Galway in Pearse Stadium in the opening round of Division 1A of the Allianz hurling league.

There’s another notable return in defence with William Egan, who was not involved last year, starting at centre-back.

There’s five changes in total to the Cork team that lost out to Galway in the championship last July.

Joyce and Egan return along with midfielder Lorcan McLoughlin, centre-forward Paudie O’Sullivan and corner-forward Alan Cadogan.

Brian Murphy has retired, Mark Ellis is injured while Daniel Kearney, Brian Lawton and Conor Lehane are all named on the bench.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) (Capt)

5. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
6. William Egan (Kilbrin)
7. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)

8. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
9. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
11. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
12. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
18. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
19. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
20. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)
21. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock)
22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
23. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
24. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
25. William Leahy (Aghada)
26. Paul Haughney (Midleton)

Galvin and Cleary to start as Clare unveil team for hurling league opener against Offaly

8 top stars looking to bounce back during the Allianz Hurling League

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel