The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 3 September, 2015

Cobh and Tralee denied First Division licences

The FAI’s licensing committee has awarded 15 Premier Division and five First Division licences for the coming season.

File photo.
File photo.
Image: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

APPLICATIONS FROM Cobh Ramblers and Tralee Dynamos for Airtricity League First Division licences have been rejected, the FAI’s Independent Club Licensing Committee confirmed this afternoon.

Requests from both clubs to be included in the 2012 First Division were turned down last month, and they were informed of the FAI’s decision to proceed with a revamped eight-team division.

Clubs now have five working days to lodge an appeal, if so desired.

In total, 15 Premier Division licences and five First Division licences have been awarded for the coming season, which begins on the weekend of 3/4 March.

Premier Division Licence: Athlone Town FC, Bohemian FC, Bray Wanderers FC, Cork City FC, Derry City FC, Drogheda United FC , Dundalk FC, Longford Town FC, Monaghan United FC, Shamrock Rovers FC, Shelbourne FC, Sligo Rovers FC, St. Patrick’s Athletic, UCD AFC, Waterford United FC.

First Division Licence: Finn Harps FC, Limerick FC, Mervue United FC, SD Galway, Wexford Youths FC.

Ireland climb to 20th in FIFA world rankings

Eamon Zayed’s Tehran derby hat-trick caused a fan to ‘have a heart attack and die’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (1 Comment)

Add New Comment