The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 28 August, 2015

Brian Murphy returns to Cork team for All-Ireland hurling final

The Bride Rovers man is the only change from the side that beat Dublin in the semi final.

Cork's Brian Murphy returns to the starting XV against Clare on Sunday.
Cork's Brian Murphy returns to the starting XV against Clare on Sunday.
Image: NPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

CORK HAVE MADE just one change to the team that beat Dublin in their All-Ireland SHC semi final last month, with Brian Murphy returning to the side as they get set to take on Clare in the decider on Sunday

The Bride Rovers clubman has been out of action since June when he suffered a collarbone injury injury in a club game that looked to have put paid to his season.

However, he made a quicker than expected return to training and it’s no surprise that Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has opted  for the experienced 31-year old as the Rebels look to keep the shackles on Clare’s free-scoring forwards.

Grenagh’s Tom Kenny drops to the bench to allow Murphy line up at right half-back.

Throw in Sunday is 3.30 pm.

CORK (SH v Clare): Anthony Nash (Kanturk); Stephen Mc Donnell (Glen Rovers), Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), William Egan (Kilbrin); Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk), Daniel Kearney (Sarfields); Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), Pa Cronin (Bishopstown), Conor Lehane (Midleton); Luke O’Farrell (Midleton), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum).

Substitutes: Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle). Kilian Murphy (Erin’s Own), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Tom Kenny (Grenagh), Stephen White (Ballygarvan), Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline), Cian Mc Carthy (Sarsfields), Cathal Naughton (Newtownshandrum), Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton), Michael Cussen (Sarsfields).

Kildare players call on county board to reinstate sacked McGeeney

Waterford name unchanged team for All-Ireland minor hurling final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (11 Comments)

Add New Comment