This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 24 May, 2018

McManamon goal helps Dublin overcome Down

The Dubs ensured their passage into the semi-finals of the Allianz League this evening.

Dublin's Craig Dias with Brendan McArdle of Down.
Dublin's Craig Dias with Brendan McArdle of Down.

Updated at 9.15pm

DUBLIN EARNED A hard-fought 1-15 to 0-9 victory over Down in tonight’s Allianz National Football League encounter at Croke Park.

A Kevin McManamon goal on 49 minutes helped the Dubs prevail, having trailed their opponents in the early stages.

Further points from Paul Mannion and Diarmuid Connolly helped make the victory safe and ensure their passage into the semi-finals of the Allianz League.

Down had established a narrow 0-7 to 0-5 lead over Dublin at half-time.

Two points from Mark Poland helped the visitors establish a 0-5 to 0-1 lead in the opening 10 minutes.

Dublin then responded, with points from Denis Bastick, Cian O’Sullivan and Connolly bringing the score back to 0-6 to 0-4.

Further points from Nicky Devereux and Paul McComiskey left the game at 0-7 to 0-5 in Down’s favour going in at half-time.

Scorers for Dublin: Kevin McManamon 1-0, Paul Mannion 0-5, Denis Bastick 0-1, Cian O’Sullivan 0-1, Diarmuid Connolly 0-4, Bryan Cullen 0-1, Nicky Devereux 0-1, Paddy Andrews 0-2, Stephen Cluxton 0-1.

Scorers for Down: Mark Poland 0-2, Benny Mc Ardle 0-1, Donal O Hare 0-3, Kevin McKernan 0-1, Paul McComiskey 0-1, Danny Savage 0-1.

DUBLIN: Stephen Cluxton; Darren Daly, Jonny Cooper, Kevin O’Brien; Jack McCaffrey, Ger Brennan, Nicky Devereux; Cian O’Sullivan, Denis Bastick; Craig Dias, Paddy Andrews, Bryan Cullen; Kevin McManamon, Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Mannion.

Subs: Shane Carthy on for Dias (46). Kevin Nolan on for McCaffrey (65)

DOWN: Brendan McVeigh; Daniel McCartan, Brendan McArdle, Ryan Boyle; Damian Turley, Aidan Carr, Darren O Hagan,; Kalum King, Kevin McKernan; Conor Laverty, Mark Poland, Paul McComiskey; Donal O’Hare, Connaire Harrison, Benny Coulter

GAA Congress votes in Hawk-Eye trial, black card and anti-racist stance>

Motion carried: GAA Congress approves use of grounds for Rugby World Cup bid>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel