This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 21 June, 2018

Dublin, Kildare and Laois unveil starting sides for Leinster minor football openers

The provincial clashes take place tomorrow.

DUBLIN, KILDARE AND Laois have named their starting teams for tomorrow’s Electric Ireland Leinster minor football first round games.

Dublin entertain Meath in Parnell Park at 3pm, Laois host Louth in Portlaoise at 3pm while Kildare travel to face Carlow at 1pm.

Kildare are the reigning champions at this grade with midfielder David Kelly the only survivor from last year’s provincial title winning team.

Laois, who lost last July’s final in Croke Park, can call upon Ciaran Comerford, Alan Kinsella, Diarmuid Whelan and Robert Tyrrell, who all featured during that game.

Dublin bowed out at the quarter-final stage last year when they lost 1-18 to 2-5 against Meath.


1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)

2. Liam Flatman (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Peadar O’Cofaigh Byrne (Cuala)
4. Aaron Lynch (St Sylvester’s)

5. Kieran Kennedy (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
6. Neil Matthews (Erins Isle)
7. Eoin O’Dea (Na Fianna)

8. Ben Coffey (Lucan Sarsfields)
9. Diarmaid O’Floinn (Cuala)

10. Niall O’Leary (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. James Doran (Na Fianna)
12. Daniel Brennan (St Sylvester’s)

13. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
14. Sean Hawkshaw (Naomh Mearnóg)
15. Ciaran Archer (St Maur’s)


1. Aaron O’Neill (Carbury)

2. Daniel Reilly (Clane)
3. Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace)
4. Conor Murphy (Sarsfields)

5. Jack Travers (Leixlip)
6. Ben Carroll (Maynooth)
7. Daragh Ryan (Sarsfields)

8. David Kelly (Carbury)
9. Cian McQuillain (Sarsfields)

10. Findlay Nairn (Kilcock)
11. Niall O’Sullivan (Maynooth)
12. Brian McDonnell (Sarsfields)

13. Darragh Kirwan (Naas)
14. Shane O’Sullivan (Clane)
15. Jack Barrett (Leixlip)


1. Thomas McCann (Ballyroan Abbey)

2. Michael Dowling (Portlaoise)
3. Sean O’Flynn (Courtwood)
4. Daniel Comerford (The Harps)

5. Colin Slevin (Portarlington)
6. Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan)
7. Gary Saunders (Portlaoise)

8. Robert Tyrell (Camross)
9. Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan Abbey)

10. Alan Kinsella (Courtwood)
11. Niall Dunne (Courtwood)
12. Ronan Coffey (Portarlington)

13. Mark Barry (O’Dempsey’s)
14. Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
15. Jack Owens (Emo)

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘Morally wrong’ to make Dublin U21 footballers face choice between club and county

‘The guys have really warmed to him’: Alan Brogan on joining forces with Paul Galvin

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel