This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 26 May, 2018

Two Irish players selected in League Two Team of the Year

Enda Stevens and Graham Carey have been recognised for their impressive seasons.

Enda Stevens (left) and Graham Carey are having impressive seasons in England's fourth tier.
Enda Stevens (left) and Graham Carey are having impressive seasons in England's fourth tier.

FORMER IRELAND U21 internationals Enda Stevens and Graham Carey have been recognised for their stellar seasons with places in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

Both players have already secured promotion to League One for next season with their respective clubs and have caught the eye over the last eight months.

Former Aston Villa full-back Stevens has been a key part of the best defence in the league, as Portsmouth have conceded just 38 times in their 43 games to date.

The 26-year-old Dubliner has been a mainstay in the side this season, starting 42 league games and scoring one goal. As a result, he has been selected on the left side of the Team of the Year’s defence.

Carey, 27, has been similarly impressive for Plymouth Argyle this season, starting all 43 league games and bagging 14 goals from midfield, which earns him a spot down the wing from Stevens.

Dubliner Carey is one of three Plymouth players in the XI, while league leaders Doncaster and third-placed Portsmouth have two representatives apiece.

Luke McCormick (Plymouth Argyle)

Kelvin Mellor (Blackpool)
Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)
Christian Burgess (Portsmouth)
Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)

Nicky Adams (Carlisle United)
Luke Berry (Cambridge United)
James Coppinger (Doncaster Rovers)
Graham Carey (Plymouth Argyle)

Danny Hylton (Luton Town)
John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers)

PFA Sky Bet Championship Team of the Year

Championship leaders Brighton, who have already secured promotion to the top flight, are well represented in their respective Team of the Year with four players included.

Goalkeeper David Stockdale, defenders Bruno Saltor and Lewis Dunk, and midfielder Anthony Knockaert make up the contingent from Chris Hughton’s side.

Newcastle United, who are in pole position to join Brighton in the automatic qualification spots, have three players in the XI — Jamaal Lascelles, Jonjo Shelvey and Dwight Gayle, while Fulham duo Tom Cairney and 16-year-old full-back Ryan Sessegnon also make the side.

Huddersfield Town’s Aaron Mooy completes the midfield while New Zealand striker Chris Wood is Leeds United’s sole representative.

David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Bruno Saltor (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United)
Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United)

Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)
Chris Wood (Leeds United)

PFA Sky Bet League One Team of the Year

Champions Sheffield United have five players included on the PFA League One Team of the Year while second-placed Bolton Wanderers have two representatives among the XI.

Bradford City, Scunthorpe United, Walsall and Bury complete the side with one player apiece.

Simon Moore (Sheffield United)

Kieron Freeman (Sheffield United)
Mark Beevers (Bolton Wanderers)
David Wheater (Bolton Wanderers)
James Meredith (Bradford City)

Mark Duffy (Sheffield United)
John Fleck (Sheffield United)
Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)
Erhun Oztumer (Walsall)

Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
James Vaughan (Bury)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘The guy’s a genius’ – Roy Keane again gushed about former team-mate Ronaldo last night

Chelsea and Spurs dominate PFA Team of the Year with four players apiece

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Alan Waldron

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel