This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Friday 22 June, 2018

Colm Galvin and Gerry Keegan took the main prizes at tonight's U21 Hurling Awards

The stars of this year’s U21 Hurling Championship were honoured in Croke Park this evening.

Galvin celebrates Clare's three in a row with captain Tony Kelly.
Galvin celebrates Clare's three in a row with captain Tony Kelly.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CLARE ACE COLM Galvin was crowned Bord Gáis Energy U21 Player of the Year this evening.

Galvin was honoured as the standout player of this year’s hurling championship for his part in Clare’s historic three in a row.

“Colm was immense all season for Clare on their march to a third successive All-Ireland title,” said newly-installed Dublin manager Ger Cunningham, one of this year’s judges.

His displays were of a consistently high level throughout and he was often the ‘go to’ man when Clare needed him most.

Kildare’s Gerry Keegan was named U21 ‘B’ Player of the Year following his Man of the Match display in the final against Roscommon.

Cunningham said: “His performance alone was exceptional and it also showed his strength of character to bounce back after being on the losing side last year in such dramatic circumstances.”

Wexford’s Conor McDonald won Score of the Year as voted for by the public.

Bord Gáis Energy U21 Player of the Year: Colm Galvin (Clare)

Bord Gáis Energy U21 ‘B’ Player of the Year: Gerry Keegan (Kildare)

Bord Gáis Energy Score of the Year: Conor McDonald (Goal v Dublin, Leinster Final)

2014 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year

1. Oliver O’Leary (Wexford)

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)
3. Liam Ryan (Wexford)
4. Seadna Morey (Clare)

5. Andrew Kenny (Wexford)
6. Conor Cleary (Clare)
7. Jamie Shanahan (Clare)

8. Colm Galvin (Clare)
9. Eoin Enright (Clare)

10. Jack Guiney (Wexford)
11. Tony Kelly (Clare)
12. Padraig Brehony (Galway)

13. Jason Forde (Tipperary)
14. Conor Mc Donald (Wexford)
15. Aaron Cunningham (Clare)

Kilmacud Crokes to meet St Jude’s in Dublin senior hurling final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel