The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 21 May, 2018


37,152 Views 17 Comments

Here’s how the teams will line out:


1. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)

2. David Murray (Pádraig Pearses)
3. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
4. Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s)

5. Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
6. Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
7. Conor Devaney (Kilbride)

8. Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk)
9. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)

10. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11. Ciaráin Murtagh (C) St Faithleach’s
12. Enda Smith (Boyle)

13. Brian Stack (St. Brigid’s)
14. Diarmuid Murtagh (St. Faithleach’s)
15. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)


1. Ruairi Lavelle (Renvyle)

2. Cathal Sweeney (Kilanin)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)

5. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
7. Liam Silke (Corofin)

8. Fiontan O Curraoin (Mícheal Breathnach)
9. Paul Conroy (St James’)

10. Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
11. Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
12. Johnny Heaney (Killanin)

13. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michaels)
14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
15. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

We’re underway!

Galway 0-0 Roscommon 0-1

1 min – Ciaran Murtagh scores from Roscommon’s second attack of the game. The Rossies are aided by a strong breeze in the opening half.

Galway 0-0 Roscommon 0-2

2 mins – Diarmuid Murtagh adds his name to the scoresheet.

Damien Comer is yellow carded.

Galway 0-0 Roscommon 0-3

5 mins – Cian Connolly wins a free in front of the posts and Ciaran Murtagh does the business.

Galway 0-1 Roscommon 0-3

8 mins – Shane Walsh swings over a free to get Galway on the board.

Galway 0-1 Roscommon 0-4

9 mins – Murtagh nails another free after he was fouled yet again by Declan Kyne.

Galway 0-1 Roscommon 0-6

11 mins – Superb score by Conor Devanney after a wonderful catch by Smith at midfield. Galway make a mess of the ensuing kick-out and Murtagh converts the free.

Galway 0-2 Roscommon 0-6

13 mins – Shane Walsh pops over Galway’s first from play.

Galway 0-2 Roscommon 1-6

14 mins – Is there a major upset on in the Connacht final?

Roscommon have hit three wides in succession to keep Galway alive.

Another wide from Roscommon. The wides are sucking the life out of Kevin McStay’s men but they’re well in control from open play.

Michael Daly cracks a shot off the post after he was played in by Paul Conroy. Roscommon got off the hook there.

Galway 0-2 Roscommon 1-7

31 mins – After a great move Diarmuid Murtagh sends the away side eight in front.

Galway have hit three wides and struck the post in the last few minutes. Roscommon’s tackling has been outstanding today.

Galway 0-3 Roscommon 1-7

35 mins – Walsh sends over a close range free.

Galway 0-5 Roscommon 1-7 Walsh points another free to bring Galway a point closer to their opponents.

Moments later, Damien Comer slots over another point.

Two changes at half-time to let you know about.

Galway 0-5 Roscommon 1-8

40 mins – Diarmuid Murtagh swings over a free.

Galway 0-6 Roscommon 2-8

42 mins – Roscommon’s lead is eight after Conroy’s free from distance.

Galway 0-7 Roscommon 2-8

43 mins – Walsh converts a tap-over free.

Galway 0-8 Roscommon 2-8

44 mins – Three in-a-row for Galway.

Galway 0-10 Roscommon 2-8

45 mins – Shane Walsh and Conroy hit a score apiece. It’s a four point game.

Ian Kilbride comes in to add some experience to Roscommon’s middle sector.

Galway 0-11 Roscommon 2-8

49 mins –  A fine sweeping Galway counter-attack sees Michael Daly split the posts. John McManus picks up a yellow for a late hit on Flynn.

Galway 0-11 Roscommon 2-9

50 mins – Diarmuid Murtagh fires over a free and then hits a bad wide moments later.

Diarmuid Murtagh has gone down with an injury and is being helped off the field. He’s replaced by Donie Smith.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-9

53 mins – Damien Comer sends over a fine score. We have a three point game once again.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-10

54 mins – Connolly nails a really important point for the Rossies.

Connolly picks up a yellow. Four players on both sides have now been booked.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-11

59 mins – Donie Smith slots over an audacious score from the outside of the left.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-11

64 mins – We’ve had no Galway score for ten minutes. Ian Kilbride hits a wide at the far end.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-12

68 mins – Donie Smith converts a free. Roscommon lead by six.

RED CARD! Cian Connolly picks up a second yellow for a smart foul to slow down a Galway attack.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-13

71 mins - Devaney slots over his second after a lovely flick up. The title is Roscommon’s now.


RED CARD! Paul Conroy is black carded while Micheal Lundy is red carded and Damien Comer picks up a second yellow. Tadgh O’Rourke is also yellow carded.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-14

75 mins – Devanney stretches their lead to eight. This is an incredible result.

Galway 0-12 Roscommon 2-14

76 mins – Killoran stretches the lead to nine once again.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel