The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 26 April, 2018

Guess who's best represented on the GPA's team of the year...

Much debate will follow selection no doubt.

Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

THEY WON’T BE happy with this on Leeside.

The GPA announced their football team of the year earlier and Down have two more places than the All-Ireland champions Cork.

The Rebels have three players included -  in a team with seven counties represented – Daniel Goulding, Michael Shields and Paudie Kissane.

Beaten finalsits Down, meanwhile, have five; Brendan McVeigh, Kevin McKernan, Daniel Hughes, Martin Clarke and Benny Coulter.

Dublin’s star man Bernard Brogan made the cut with teammate Philly McMahon along with Kildare’s Emmet Bolton and John Doyle. The remaining places were taken by Sligo’s Charlie Harrison, Paddy Keenan of Louth and Limerick’s John Galvin.

Dessie Farrell, GPA chief executive, hailed the efforts of all the players selected. He said:

There is no doubt that 2010 was a year of change in the football championship and I think the competitive nature of the season is reflected by the fact seven counties are represented.

I’d like to congratulate the 15 winners and all the nominees and thank all the players who voted.”

Said Martin McHugh, chairman of the football selection committee:

The Opel GPA Awards stand alone in that the ultimate selection of the team is made by the players,”. “As a selection committee we put forward who we believed were the three most deserving nominees for each position and now the players have made their choice.

It is a great achievement for any footballer to be honoured by his fellow players and I congratulate the 2010 winners.

The full team is: Brendan McVeigh (Down), Charlie Harrison (Sligo), Michael Shields (Cork),  Philly McMahon (Dublin), Kevin McKernan (Down), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Paudie Kissane (Cork), Paddy Keenan (Louth), John Galvin (Limerick),  Daniel Hughes (Down), Martin Clarke (Down),  John Doyle (Kildare), Daniel Goulding (Cork), Benny Coulter (Down), Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel