This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 23 June, 2018

Ian Madigan at out-half as Fergus McFadden wears 13 for Leinster

Meanwhile, the all-international front row trio of Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin and Martin Moore get the nod.

Ian Madigan will wear the 10 shirt for Leinster.
Ian Madigan will wear the 10 shirt for Leinster.
Image: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

LEINSTER COACH MATT O’Connor has made 10 changes to his starting XV ahead of the RaboDirect Pro12 fixture against the Glasgow Warriors at the RDS tomorrow evening [KO 8.00pm].

Fergus McFadden returns for the province after recent Six Nations involvement on the bench with Ireland. The 27-year-old will make his first start of the season at outside centre, replacing Brendan Macken.

Elsewhere in the backline, fellow Ireland international Ian Madigan is picked at out-half, completing a halfback partnership with Eoin Reddan. Luke Fitzgerald continues on the left wing, from where his performance will be closely studied by Joe Schmidt.

In the front row, Martin Moore, Jack McGrath and Sean Cronin start; all three will be eager to get extended game time under their belts after benching for Ireland in recent weeks.

Captain Leo Cullen is paired in the second row with Mike McCarthy, while Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings and Jordi Murphy make up a powerful-looking back row.

Mike Ross is a notable inclusion on the bench, particularly after starting all three of Ireland’s Six Nations games so far. The 34-year-old is joined there by the likes of Richardt Strauss, Isaac Boss and Jimmy Gopperth.

Leinster (v Glasgow Warriors): Zane Kirchner; Darragh Fanning, Fergus McFadden, Noel Reid, Luke Fitzgerald; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Martin Moore; Leo Cullen (capt.), Mike McCarthy; Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings; Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Michael Bent, Mike Ross, Tom Denton, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Jimmy Gopperth, Darren Hudson.

Simon Zebo shifts to fullback in Munster team for Scarlets challenge

Owen Farrell absolved of wrongdoing by RFU over £440 ticket sale

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel