The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 19 February, 2018

O'Neill makes seven changes to starting line-up for Poland trip

The Ireland manager will take a first look at a number of players in Poznan.

Jon Walters captains the side tonight.
Jon Walters captains the side tonight.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

MARTIN O’NEILL HAS stayed true to his word by ringing in the changes for his second game in charge.

Ireland take on Poland in Poznan this evening (7.45pm) and just four players who started against Latvia on Friday — Marc Wilson, Stephen Ward, James McCarthy, and Aiden McGeady — have kept their places.

That sees David Forde replace Keiren Westwood in goal while Stephen Kelly and Sean St Ledger are preferred to Seamus Coleman and John O’Shea in the backline.

Paul Green and Jon Walters, captain for the night, come into the midfield and Anthony Stokes and Shane Long get the nod in attack.

Ireland’s team to play Poland: Forde, Kelly, St Ledger, Wilson, Ward, Walters (c), McCarthy, Green, McGeady, Stokes, Long.

VIDEO: The Secret Footballer gives his first television interview

Make-or-break qualifier sees Algeria fans fill stadium… SIX HOURS before kick-off

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: