This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 26 May, 2018

Marmion, Payne and Henderson start in Ireland's 6 Nations finale against England

Conor Murray has not recovered from his shoulder injury for the clash with the already-crowned champions.

Image: Billy Stickland/INPHO

IRELAND HEAD COACH Joe Schmidt has made three changes in the starting line-up as he hopes to finish the Six Nations on an upward curve at home to England.

Devin Toner, Conor Murray and Rob Kearney all drop out of the starting XV – the latter two out of the matchday squad through injury – to be replaced by Iain Henderson, Kieran Marmion and Jared Payne.

Murray sustained a shoulder ‘stinger’ during the loss to Wales last weekend and was replaced by Connacht scrum-half Marmion. The knock-on effect of Murray’s injury brings Leinster’s Luke McGrath in among the replacements.

Jared Payne Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Joining him there will be in-form uncapped Munster back Andrew Conway in the number 23 jersey and Peter O’Mahony, who is again behind the back row trio trio of Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien and CJ Stander.

Ireland ( v England )

15. Jared Payne
14. Keith Earls
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Simon Zebo
10. Jonathan Sexton
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Jack McGrath
2. Rory Best (Capt)
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Donnacha Ryan
5. Iain Henderson
6. CJ Stander
7. Sean O’Brien
8. Jamie Heaslip


16. Niall Scannell
17. Cian Healy
18. John Ryan
19. Devin Toner
20. Peter O’Mahony
21. Luke McGrath
22. Paddy Jackson
23. Andrew Conway

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: