The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 20 May, 2018

Kerry rout Cork by 12 points to win Munster senior football title

The Kingdom have won the last football title at Páirc Uí Chaoimh before the stadium is re-developed.

Bryan Sheehan, Killian Young and Aidan OÕMahony Kerry players Bryan Sheehan, Killian Young and Aidan O'Mahony celebrate. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kerry 0-24
Cork 0-12

KERRY HAVE WON their 76th Munster Senior Football Championship after an emphatic 12-point win over Cork in the final football decider to be held at Páirc Uí Chaoimh before the famous stadium is re-developed.

Kerry’s first half dominance – Cork failed to score between the 7th minute and 37th minute – was not fully reflected on the scoreboard; Éamonn Fitzmaurice’s men going into the break with a 0-13 to 0-5 lead when it could have been much more.

The Kingdom picked up where they left off in the second half – James O’Donoghue (0-10) serving as tormentor in chief – as the home fans streamed from Páirc Uí Chaoimh in their thousands well before the final whistle.

It was a hugely impressive display from Kerry with O’Donoghue and Paul Geaney starring in the inside attacking positions while Declan O’Sullivan orchestrated the play around the middle.

At one juncture Kerry were in front by 0-13 to 0-3 during the opening period but Cork hit back with a couple of points before the interval and then the free taking of Brian Hurley and Daniel Goulding saw them cut the deficit to 0-13 to 0-8 early in the second-half.

However that was as good as it got for Cork with Kerry taking over as O’Donoghue, Bryan Sheehan and Johnny Buckley put the game to bed with a series of excellent scores.

Cork’s woes were compounded late on when substitute John Hayes was shown a red card and they now head towards the qualifiers in an effort to turn their season around.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: James O’Donoghue 0-10 (0-2f), Johnny Buckley, Bryan Sheehan (0-2f, 0-1 ’45) 0-4 each, Paul Geaney 0-3, Donnchadh Walsh, Stephen O’Brien, Declan O’Sullivan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork: Daniel Goulding 0-6 (0-3f), Brian Hurley 0-4 (0-3f), Fintan Goold, Aidan Walsh 0-1 each.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

1. Brian Kelly – Killarney Legion

5. Paul Murphy – Rathmore
4. Shane Enright – Tarbert
2. Marc Ó Sé – An Ghaeltacht

3. Aidan O’Mahony – Rathmore
6. Killian Young – Renard
7. Fionn Fitzgerald – Dr Crokes (C)

8. Anthony Maher – Duagh
11. Bryan Sheehan – St Mary’s

12. Donnchadh Walsh – Cromane
14. Declan O’Sullivan – Dromid Pearses
9. Johnny Buckley – Dr Crokes

15. James O’Donoghue – Killarney Legion
13. Paul Geaney – Dingle
10. Stephen O’Brien – Kenmare

17. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers) for O’Mahony (49)
18. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar) for O’Brien (52)
19. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Sheehan (56)
24. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Geaney (60)
23. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes) for Walsh (60)
22. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) for Buckley (64)

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)

5. James Loughrey (Mallow)
6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven)

8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)

15. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
10. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
12. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)

22. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for O’Rourke (half-time)
24. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for Kelly (half-time)
23. Mark Collins (Castlehaven) for Barry O’Driscoll (45)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown) for Clancy (50)
25. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for Walsh (57)
18. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy) for Galvin (60)

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)

LIVE: Cork v Kerry, Munster senior football final

LIVE: Kilkenny v Dublin, Leinster SHC final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: