This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 17 October, 2018

Kilkenny leave King Henry on the bench for Waterford clash

Kilkenny and Waterford have named their teams for Saturday’s Phase III qualifier in Semple Stadium.

Shefflin: starts Saturday's game on the bench.
Shefflin: starts Saturday's game on the bench.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

HENRY SHEFFLIN HAS been named among the Kilkenny substitutes for Saturday’s Phase III hurling qualifier against Waterford (throw-in 7pm).

Shefflin was given a raucous welcome when he came off the bench in last week’s win against Tipperary.

That brief run-out was his first competitive action since last September but rather than risk him from the start, Brian Cody has opted to keep his 11-time All-Star in reserve.

Cody makes two personnel changes from the side which beat Tipp, with Michael Rice coming in to the Cats’ midfield and Aidan Fogarty named at corner-forward.

Lester Ryan has to make do with a place on the bench while TJ Reid is ruled out with the hamstring injury that forced him off last Saturday night.

Waterford also make two changes for the clash in Semple Stadium. Dungarvan’s Jamie Nagle comes in at wing-back in place of Paudie Prendergast while Jamie Barron is named at corner-forward.

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy (Glenmore); Paul Murphy (Danesfort), JJ Delaney (Fenians), Jackie Tyrell (James Stephens); Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge); Eoin Larkin (James Stephens), Michael Rice (Carrickshock); Colin Fennelly (capt, Ballyhale Shamrocks), Richie Power (Carrickshock), Matthew Ruth (James Stephens); Richie Hogan (Danesfort), Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon), Aidan Fogarty (Emeralds).

Substitutes: David Herity (Dunnamaggin), Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own), Paddy Hogan (Danesfort), Lester Ryan (Clara), Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers), Pádraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin), Ger Aylward (Glenmore), Joe Brennan (St. Patrick’s Ballyragget).

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); Shane Fives (Carrigtwohill), Liam Lawlor (Fourmilewater), Noel Connors (Passage); Jamie Nagle (Dungarvan), Michael Walsh (Stradbally), Darragh Fives (Tourin); Kevin Moran (capt, De La Salle), Richie Foley (Abbeyside); Jake Dillon (De La Salle), Seamus Prendergast (Ardmore), Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner); Brian O’Sullivan (Ballygunner), Maurice Shanahan (Lismore), Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater).

Limerick name unchanged side for Munster hurling final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: