This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 24 May, 2018

Carbery switches to out-half as Cullen makes 8 changes for Leinster's trip to Ospreys

Johnny Sexton, Sean O’Brien, Garry Ringrose and Luke McGrath are all rested.

Carbery was man of the match in last weekend's win over Wasps.
Carbery was man of the match in last weekend's win over Wasps.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

LEINSTER HEAD COACH Leo Cullen has shuffled his deck for tomorrow’s Guinness Pro12 clash with Ospreys, as the eastern province make eight changes in total from last weekend’s victory over Wasps.

While the likes of Johnny Sexton, Sean O’Brien, Garry Ringrose and Luke McGrath are given the weekend off, Joey Carbery switches from fullback to out-half for Saturday’s visit to the Liberty Stadium [KO 3pm, Sky Sports].

With Carbery at 10 for the first time since the win over Edinburgh in February, captain Isa Nacewa shifts to fullback and Fergus McFadden comes into the side to make just his fifth start of an injury-plagued season.

Rory O’Loughlin, Zane Kirchner and Jamison Gibson-Park all come into the backline while Sean Cronin is set to make his first start since injuring his hamstring against Zebre in January.

Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong continue in the front row but there are further changes elsewhere in the pack with Mick Kearney, Josh van der Flier and the fit-again Rhys Ruddock drafted in.

Dave Kearney, meanwhile, is named on the bench alongside Mike Ross, who is in line to make his 150th appearance for the province.

Dave Kearney Dave Kearney is back in the matchday 23. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Leinster have the chance to extend their lead at the top of the Pro12 with an eighth straight league win before second place Munster host Glasgow Warriors later in the day.

Cullen’s men go into this weekend two points clear at the summit and can consolidate their place in the home play-off berths by coming away from Wales with four points.


15. Isa Nacewa (captain)
14. Rory O’Loughlin
13. Zane Kirchner
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Fergus McFadden
10. Joey Carbery
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Jack McGrath
2. Sean Cronin
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. Mick Kearney
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan


16. James Tracy
17. Peter Dooley
18. Mike Ross
19. Ian Nagle
20. Dan Leavy
21. Nick McCarthy
22. Ross Byrne
23. Dave Kearney

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Beauden Barrett red carded as Hurricanes win 10-try treat against Waratahs

‘Limited number’ of tickets for Munster’s Champions Cup semi-final go on sale this afternoon

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: