The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Thursday 19 April, 2018

Brian O'Driscoll in for Pro12 decider but Sean O'Brien misses out

Joe Schmidt’s reign comes to an end against Ulster.

Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

DO YOU WANT the good news or the bad news, Leinster fans?

Brian O’Driscoll has been named in the province’s starting XV for tomorrow evening RaboDirect Pro12 final against Ulster.

Sean O’Brian has lost his race to be fit for the RDS showdown however. The Tullow native sustained a knee injury in the Amlin Challenge final win over Stade Francais last week. Shane Jennings starts at 7 in his stead.

As well as bidding a fond farewell to new Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt, the RDS crowd will also get the chance to say goodbye to Paris-bound Jonny Sexton and the retiring Ica Nacewa.

Ulster too have also named their side for the much-anticipated end to the rugby season. Fit-again John Afoa starting at tighthead is the only change to the XV that defeated the Scarlets a fortnight ago.

“It’s great to be able to welcome John back into the starting line-up,” says Ulster head coach, Mark Anscombe. “John and players like Ruan (Pienaar) and Johann (Muller) have been part of World Cup winning squads. When the big moments come, they are cool heads under pressure and you can’t put a price on that. When you put them together with our Ireland internationals and our excellent young players like Stuart Olding then you have a great mix.”

Leinster XV: R Kearney, F McFadden, B O’Driscoll, I Madigan, I Nacewa, J Sexton, I Boss, C Healy, R Strauss, M Ross, L Cullen (capt), D Toner, K McLaughlin, S Jennings, J Heaslip.

Replacements: S Cronin, J McGrath, J Hagan, Q Roux, R Ruddock, J Cooney, A Goodman, A Conway.

Ulster XV: J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, S Olding, T Bowe, P Jackson, R Pienaar; T Court, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller (capt), D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams.

Replacements: R Herring, C Black, D Fitzpatrick, I Henderson, M McComish, P Marshall, M Allen, P Nelson.

Dortmund land in London, claim deckchair outside Buckingham Palace

[embed id="embed_1"]

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel