This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Saturday 23 June, 2018

Mayo's All-Star defender makes his comeback as Clarke and Johnston return for Cavan

The teams meet on Sunday at 2pm.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

MAYO BOSS STEPHEN Rochford has made four changes to his team for Sunday’s clash with Cavan at Elverys MacHale Park.

All-Star defender Brendan Harrison makes his first start of 2017 after an injury-enforced absence.

Elsewhere, Danny Kirby, Conor O’Shea & Conor Loftus also come into the starting team at the expense of Stephen Coen, Jason Gibbons, Diarmuid O’Connor and Evan Regan.

Mayo defender Donal Vaughan will make his 90th appearance for the county.

Cavan’s Mattie McGleenan has made just two changes from last week’s defeat to Tyrone in Omagh.

Experienced duo Killian Clarke and Seanie Johnston return to the starting 15.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
4. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6. Lee Keegan (Westport)
7. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)
12. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)

13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)


1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)

2. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)
3. Rory Dunne (Redhills)
4. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)

5. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
6. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)

8. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
9. Tomas Corr (Denn)

10. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
11. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
12. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)

13. Paul O’Connor (Cavan Gaels)
14. Conor Madden (Gowna)
15. Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
18. Niall McKiernan (Lacken)
19. Michael Argue (Bailieborough)
20. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
21. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
22. John McCutcheon (Cootehill Celtic)
23. Gerard Smith (Lavey)
24. Shane O’Rourke (Laragh United)
25. Stephen Murray (Cavan Gaels)
26. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
27. Joe Dillon (Kingscourt)
28. Colm Smith (Cootehill Celtic)
29. Liam Buchanan (Ballymachugh)
30. Joshua Hayes (Cootehill Celtic)

Kerry make two changes as they prepare to host league champions Dublin

6 changes to Cork team for clash with Meath and ex-Leitrim player named on bench

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel