This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 23 June, 2018

Poll: Can Cork and Kerry be beaten? Who will win the Munster SFC crown this year?

It all starts this weekend in Munster as Tipperary and Limerick look to crash the Cork and Kerry party.

James O'Donoghue takes on Eoin Cadogan to shoot for a point.
James O'Donoghue takes on Eoin Cadogan to shoot for a point.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

IT’S BEEN OVER two decades since the Kerry and Cork stranglehold over the Munster championship was last broken.

In 1992 Clare won their second ever Munster title after they beat Kerry in that year’s final. This year they gained promotion from Division 4 of the league, while in last year’s Munster club championship Cratloe came to within a point of Dr Crokes in the provincial final. Will this be another historic year for the county?

Tipperary edged out Clare in the Division 4 league final, and can they transpire their underage success into a senior title after a 70 year wait?

After the retirement of a number of their team’s key men, will Kerry struggle in this year’s championship? Or can they win their fourth title in five years?

Cork will have something to say about that as they go in search of championship number 38. Limerick and Waterford are both chasing their second ever title.

In the first year of the new Munster championship format, can anyone stop the big two, who will win the Munster championship 2014?

Poll Results:

6 reasons Donegal can be positive about the summer ahead

Paul Earley vows to be ready for Sky Sports’ GAA debut after cycling crash

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel