This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 27 May, 2018


25,108 Views 36 Comments

Full-time: Limerick 0-16 Cork 1-11


GOOD EVENING AND welcome along to the Gaelic Grounds, where Cork will attempt to make it a clean sweep of provincial titles tonight.

Having already wrapped up the U17, minor and senior Munster championships, the Rebels face a superb Limerick side in the Bord Gáis Energy U21 hurling final.

We’re just under an hour away from throw-in.

Jackie Cahill has picked six players — including Cork forward Declan Dalton — who he feels will have a big say in the destination of this year’s silverware.

Read his piece here.

Declan Dalton shoots on goal Dalton starts tonight. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Last month, Cork needed an injury-time penalty from Dalton to rescue their semi-final at Walsh Park. The Rebels had been reduced to 14 men as Darragh Fitzgibbon was sent off and they trailed Waterford until a dramatic late goal from the spot.

Meanwhile, Limerick, who are strong favourites this evening, claimed convincing victories over Tipperary and Clare en route to the final.

Here are the starting XVs. Both teams start as selected:


1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

2. Seán Finn (Bruff)
3. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen)
4. Dan Joy (Kilmallock)

5. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
7. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
9. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)

10. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
11. Mike Mackey (Adare)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Tom Morrissey (Ahane (Captain)
15. Barry Nash (South Liberties)


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. John Cashman (Blackrock)
3. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

5. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
6. Darren Browne (capt, Kanturk)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
9. Paul Leopold (Sarsfields)

10. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
14. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
15. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)

They’re going for the treble this year in Munster so it’s going to be a massive test, but one we’re all really looking forward to.

Playing at home is a help, I’m sure Cork would love if they were at home too, but Cork hurling is really on the up. There’ll be a huge Cork crowd there I’m sure, especially when they are going for the Munster treble.”

They are the words of Limerick’s Peter Casey, who starts at corner-forward. Read the full interview here.

For those hoping to catch the game, it’s live on TG4. We’re just minutes away now, so let’s get your predictions:

Poll Results:

1 min: Early free for Limerick…

1 min: Limerick 0-1 Cork 0-0 – And Ronan Lynch puts it in between the posts for the first score of the evening.

4 mins: Limerick 0-2 Cork 0-0 – Cork’s John Cashman concedes a free and Aaron Gillane takes advantage to put Limerick two points ahead.

8mins: Limerick 0-2 Cork 0-0 – Dalton launches a sideline cut towards goal but it looks like there’s Cork player in the square and Limerick win the free.

Down the other end, Tom Morrissey creates some space before shooting wide.

11 mins: Limerick 0-4 Cork 0-0 - Thomas Grimes receives the sliotar and takes a shot on early for a third Limerick point. Seconds later, Peter Casey adds another.

13 mins: Limerick 0-5 0-0 –  That’s five unanswered scores — the latest of which is from a Gillane free. Cork haven’t got into this at all yet.

14 mins: Limerick 0-7 Cork 0-0 – It’s all Limerick as Lynch and Grimes both add to their personal tallies.

16 mins: Limerick 0-7 Cork 0-1 – And they’re finally off the mark thanks to Douglas forward Shane Kingston.

17 mins: Limerick 0-7 Cork 0-2 – That’s two in a row for the Rebels as they narrow Limerick’s advantage to five points. It was Tim O’Mahony with the score.

21 mins: Limerick 0-8 Cork 0-3 – Kingston gets his second point of the game before Limerick reply through Mike Mackey.

24 mins: Limerick 0-9 Cork 0-3 - Barry Nash, who hit a wide minutes earlier, makes no mistake this time.

26 mins: Limerick 0-9 Cork 1-3 – GOAL CORK! O’Mahony steps inside two defenders and blasts beyond Limerick goalkeeper Eoghan McNamara.

28 mins: Limerick 0-11 Cork 1-3 – Limerick respond to that goal with two points in quick succession — from Casey and Tom Morrissey.

30 mins: Limerick 0-11 Cork 1-4 – Michael O’Halloran scores the last point of the half for Cork.

It’s been lashing down at the Gaelic Grounds after a sunny start, and Dalton has picked up a yellow card in the last few minutes.


Half-time: Limerick 0-11 Cork 1-4

Sean O’Donoghue with Peter Casey Cork’s Sean O’Donoghue with Peter Casey of Limerick. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Second half: Limerick 0-11 Cork 1-4 – We’re off and running once again.

32 mins: Limerick 0-12 Cork 1-4 – Cork concede a free to the right of their goal and Gillane makes no mistake.

34 mins: Limerick 0-13 Cork 1-4 – That’s a super run by Nash, who offloads to Morrissey before being taken out by Eoghan Murphy. Mark Coleman picks up a yellow card and Gillane points.

38 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-5 – As in the first half, Limerick are controlling this in the early stages since the half-time break. Robbie O’Flynn scores for Cork from long range, before Nash puts six points between them again.

39 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-6 – O’Halloran points for Cork, while they have just brought on Jack O’Connor for Chris O’Leary.

42 mins: Substitution - Limerick bring on Paudie Ahern for Peter Casey.

46 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-6 – The wide count at the moment reads Limerick 9 Cork 6.

47 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-7 – Dalton blasts over the free for Cork. Meanwhile, Limerick have brought on Conor Boylan for Mackey.

50 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-8 – Coleman brings Cork to within three points of their opponents.

54 mins: Limerick 0-14 Cork 1-9 – Dalton bags another score from a free and it’s a two-point game.

O’Mahony has just been yellow-carded for a foul on Colin Ryan and Cork have brought on Dave O’Neill for David Lowney.

57 mins: Limerick 0-15 Cork 1-9 – Gillane with another free for Limerick, and changes in either side see Barry Murphy and John Looney enter the field.

59 mins: Limerick 0-15 Cork 1-9 – Dalton shoots wide from the sideline and time is running out for Cork to rescue this.

60 mins: Limerick 0-16 Cork 1-9 – Gillane pops over another free and we’ve just three minutes of added time to play.

63 mins: Limerick 0-16 Cork 1-11 – Kingston puts one over but it’s too little too late.


Full-time: Limerick 0-16 Cork 1-10

Limerick are Munster U21 hurling champions for 2017!

About the author:

Ben Blake


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel