Advertisement
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 18 April, 2024
AP/Press Association Images
AS IT HAPPENED

The Oscars 2015 red carpet, as it happened

FROCKWATCH! BEARDWATCH! BUMPWATCH!

IT’S THE MOST wonderful time of the yeaaarrrrrr!

Finally, it’s Oscars night 2015.

While we’re all gnashing our teeth and wringing our hands wondering “will it be Cumberbatch or Redmayne?”, “will JK Simmonds pelt the audience with cymbals?”, “WHY is Rita Ora on stage”, we all know that the real best bit of the night is the red carpet.

Will Cumberbatch help his pregnant wife over a lump in the carpet and make uteruses across the globe sing? How will we cope without manicam? Will Fassbender show up with an even more celebratory beard than last time? Will Fassbender even be there for the love of God?

We rounded it all up in our now legendary Red Carpet liveblog. Enjoy!

Join DailyEdge.ie for live Oscars coverage throughout the night. Download our free app here (iOs) or here (Android).

ARGH! It’s live. There’s Ryan Seacrest!

If you’re watching along at home, get in touch. Send us pics to @DailyEdge or tips@dailyedge.ie. We’re most interested in pics of your snack selections.

Reese Witherspoon’s mam is the CUTEST!

My biggest fan... reesewitherspoon reesewitherspoon

Chris Evans, Chris Pine, Chris Pratt. You MUST choose one.

(We’re Pratt fans, naturally)

First big celeb and nominee on the Red Carpet is Patricia Arquette.

We’re imagining Ryan Seacrest in the mirror earlier today, repeating the mantra:

DON’T CALL HER ROSANNA. DON’T CALL HER ROSANNA.

Stephen Fry called her Rosanna at the Baftas. We still haven’t recovered.

We’ve just realised it’s the first anniversary of Liza trying to get into the Oscars selfie.

liza

dis

Irish interest tonight lies with the Cartoon Saloon gang, nominated for Song of the Sea, and the Northern Irish short film Bugaloo and Graham.

We caught up with Tomm Moore, director of Song of the Sea yesterday. He was talking to us, on the phone from HOLLYWOOD! THE GLAMOUR!

The Cartoon Saloon gang was 20 strong, but only had ten tickets as of yesterday.

It looks like they managed to track down a ticket for David Rawle (Moone Boy and Song of the Sea actor)

Another early celeb spot is Anna Kendrick. We know one of these days she’ll agree to be our friend. We just know it.

She is looking a leeeetle deb-sy though. Where’s her pashmina?

Wondering where the manicam is?

THERE ISN’T ONE!

E! have confirmed that the tiny camera, designed for (mainly) actresses to show off their manicures, rings etc, is no more.

Here’s more.

man

Common, pal, we love you but your beard looks like a stencil.

common

The Boogaloo & Graham lads have arrived!

The 87th Academy Awards - Arrivals - Los Angeles Michael Lennox (left) and Ronan Blaney PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Ross Matthews and Kelly Osbourne are reporting from the Red Carpet “obsessed” with people’s looks and saying things like “that colour is divine with her skin”.

Kelly Osbourne just threw some serious shade on redheads there.

Not many redheads can pull off the look with such grace and style as Jessica Chastain.

Kelly, love, your hair is purple.

The 87th Academy Awards - Arrivals - Los Angeles AFF / EMPICS Entertainment AFF / EMPICS Entertainment / EMPICS Entertainment

No sign of Belfast swoonmerchant Jamie Phwoarnan… sorry.. Dornan.

Here’s Rita Ora and Dakota Johnson backstage at the Oscars in rehearsals though.

Nice hat Reets.

87th Academy Awards - Rehearsals AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Some serious pass ag carry-on between Ryan and Guiliana.

Is Ethan Hawke there yet Ryan?

He’s on his way Guiliana (gritted teeth)

ryan

Cool story bro.

“Tax and insurance there son”

Take a shot every time Guiliana Rancic says “that’s so interesting”.

There’s Ethan Hawke, saying something about the minutiae of life.

Forget about that though, does this woman know she’s on telly?

ethan

Dakota Johnson and Ethan Hawke having the chats.

Celebs hanging around together is one of our favourite things.

dak

Preach.

Dakota Johnson just told Ryan Seacrest that she took a flogger from the set of Fifty Shades.

He’s pretending he doesn’t know what a flogger is.

Sure pal, sure.

The wonderful Laura Dern has once again brought her dad Bruce Dern as her date. Between Laura, Bruce and her mother Diane Ladd have seven nominations between them.

Also, Laura will always be Dr Ellie Satler to us.

dern

Marion Cotillard is SO French.

Fetch us a croissant.

This is what it looks like once you get inside the Dolby Theatre.

Ah no. Felicity Jones’ dress isn’t nice. DEVASTATED.

This is going to be one of those dresses where you look back next year and everyone’s wearing it.

Kelly Osbourne doing her best not to call Marion Cotillard’s dress manky there.

87th Academy Awards - Arrivals AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Eddie Redmayne has arrived. He has SO MANY TEETH.

It’s pissing rain at the Oscars. End of days. What if Meryl goes on her ear or something?

Dakota Johnson has already been berated for ‘just wearing a ponytail’. Now, her ma Melanie Griffith looks the business.

ma @andgoseek @andgoseek

Lupita’s dress looks a little bit like something you’d make something out of shells for your mam.

lu

:/

shells

Here’s Felicity’s dress.

The 87th Academy Awards - Arrivals - Los Angeles AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Khloe Kardashian throwing some shade on Anna Kendrick’s Debs dress.

It’s a different colour.

We knew we’d seen Marion Cotillard’s dress somewhere before.

cot Now This News on Tumblr Now This News on Tumblr

We’re starting to accept that Jamie Dornan probably isn’t going to be at the Oscars.

Here’s a compensatory GIF.

gif

Judd Apatow and Leslie Mann. Deffo getting drunk on shots tonight.

judd

Ok, this looks like the time where E! loses it’s red carpet licence and talks shite in the studio. TO SKY WITH US!

There’s Rita Ora. At the Oscars. Baffling us.

87th Academy Awards - Arrivals AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

CUMBERBATCH HAS ARRIVED. He’s wearing white.

heavy

Cumberbatch, telling it like it is.

Dave Itzkoff / Vine

REPLACE OUR EYES WITH HEARTS

Hang on, has Sophie Hunter done a Liz Hurley on the dress.

Gwyneth Paltrow’s gone for pink again.

Brave.

it takes a village. #oscars @blakeerik #leslielopez @tracyandersonmethod jewels @annahuhautejoaillerie dress @ralphandrusso #gwynethheartsblo gwynethpaltrow gwynethpaltrow

OSCARS AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Fetch our smelling salts.

Wowsers. WOWSERS.

Okay, Gywnnie looks amazing.

Imagine how good and rich she smells.

<3

Wouldn’t mind being the corned beef in this sandwich.

Keira Knightley is MORTO for Lady Gaga’s red Marigolds.

mari

Cast and director of Grand Budapest Hotel. What a pack of dotes.

Neil Patrick Harris’ fella just tweeted this, which means it’s nearly time for the big show!

EXCITED!

We’ll be tweeting and keeping you updated throughout the night, and will have all of the essential Oscars roundups for you first thing in the morning.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.