The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Sunday 21 January, 2018

Reshuffle: Gilroy rings in the changes for clash with Cork

Only eight of the side who started in Dublin’s defeat to Mayo last weekend have have held onto their place.

Eamon Fennell starts in midfield for Dublin.
Eamon Fennell starts in midfield for Dublin.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

DUBLIN HAVE NAMED a new look starting XV for their Allianz National Football League Division 1 fixture against Cork.

Manager Pat Gilroy has made wholesale changes to the team which was comprehensively beaten 0-20 to 0-08 by Mayo in Castlebar last weekend as seven players come in for Sunday’s trip to Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Michael Savage starts in goal in place of Stephen Cluxton and Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper replace Ger Brennan and Darren Daly in defence.

Eamon Fennell and Sean Murray make up a new midfield partnership while, in attack, Craig Dias and Davy Byrne get the nod.

The All-Ireland champions have to do without Bernard and Alan Brogan, Eoghan O’Gara and Barry Cahill, who are all injured. Paul Flynn also misses out through suspension.

Dublin: M Savage; C O’Sullivan, R O’Carroll, P McMahon; J Cooper, J McCarthy, K Nolan; S Murray, E Fennell; D Byrne, MD Macauley, B Cullen; C Dias, D Connolly, K McManamon.

The Cork team, which was named yesterday, is as follows: K O’Halloran; Ray Carey, M Shields, E Cotter; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; A O’Connor, P O’Neill; F Goold, P Kerrigan, P Kelly; C O’Neill, A Walsh, D O’Connor.

He’s back: Cooper returns to lead Kingdom against Mayo

Ready to go: Canty returns to Cork starting line-up

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel