LIMERICK’S SHANE DOWLING admitted that even he was unsure as to whether his second goal in Thurles yesterday was legal.
When Limerick’s Thomas Ryan ran forward before half-time and fed Dowling, the ball hit the Na Piarsaigh club man’s hand before rolling into the net.
There was some confusion initially as to whether the goal should stand but referee Barry Kelly allowed it after consulting his umpires.
The decision was correct according to the rule book with the unusual strike helping Limerick claim a 3-15 to 0-8 half-time lead over Wexford in their All-Ireland quarter-final.
“That goal, I don’t know if it is legal really,” admitted Dowling afterwards. “I’m not sure but whatever it is I didn’t mean to palm it in to the net.
“I meant to catch it, it just bounced off my hand. Is it legal? Is it illegal? I don’t know. I’m sure the boys upstairs will have it well analyzed.”
Dowling also had sympathy for Wexford’s Matthew O’Hanlon who was shown a red card for a late strike on the Limerick attacker.
“I certainly didn’t make a meal of it. I wouldn’t have liked to see Matthew get sent off. I don’t think he’s that type of player.
“There wasn’t a dirty blow throughout the game. I probably thought there was no need to send him off. There was a bit of a clip all right. I didn’t play to get him send off.
“He came up after and shook hands and said there was nothing meant in it. I don’t know him very well but I know he’s a very good strong hurler and by no means would I hold that against him anyway.”