This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 16 October, 2018

Banner dominate U21 Hurling Team of the Year but no place for Shane O'Donnell

While the star of the senior final replay misses out, Clare have eight selections.

Shane O'Donnell misses out.
Shane O'Donnell misses out.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

EIGHT OF CLARE’S All-Ireland winning U21 hurlers have been named in the Bord Gáis Energy U21 Hurling Team of the Year.

The Banner dominate the awards with captain Paul Flanagan, goalkeeper Ronan Taffe and team-mates David McInerney, Seadna Morey, Alan O’Neill, Colm Galvin, Tony Kelly and Podge Collins all featuring.

There is no place for Shane O’Donnell, however. The Éire Óg forward scored 3-3 in the senior final replay against Cork but misses out.

Beaten finalists have two inclusions in Ciarán Clarke and Stephan McAfee while Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford, Offaly and Tipperary have one player each in the selection.

A three-man shortlist sees David McInerney, Jason Forde and Podge Collins nominated for Player of the Year.

Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year

1. Ronan Taffe – Clare

2. Paul Flanagan – Clare

3. David McInerney – Clare

4. Brian Kennedy – Kilkenny

5. Seadna Morey – Clare

6. Alan O’Neill – Clare

7. Ray Barry – Waterford

8. Colm Galvin – Clare

9. Lee Chin – Wexford

10. Tony Kelly – Clare

11. Padráic Collins – Clare

12. Stephan McAfee – Antrim

13. Stephen Quirke – Offaly

14. Jason Forde – Tipperary

15. Ciarán Clarke – Antrim

Nominations for Bord Gáis Energy Score of the Year Award:

  • Antrim vs Clare (All-Ireland Final): Score of the Game: Tony Kelly
  • Kerry vs Kildare (All-Ireland B Final): Score of the Game: Pádraig Boyle
  • Galway vs Clare (All Ireland Semi-Final): Score of the Game: Cathal O’Connell
  • Wexford vs Antrim (All Ireland Semi-Final): Score of the Game: Ciaran Clarke
  • Tipperary vs Clare (Munster Final): Score of the Game: Peter Duggan
  • Waterford vs Clare (Munster Semi-Final): Score of the Game: Peter Duggan
  • Tipperary vs Cork (Munster Semi-Final): Score of the Game: John McGrath
  • Wexford vs Kilkenny (Leinster Final): Score of the Game: Gary Moore
  • Kilkenny vs Offaly (Leinster Semi-Final): Score of the Game: Michael Brennan
  • Tipperary vs Limerick (Munster Quarter Final): Score of the Game: Shane Kenny

Jason Ryan ratified as new Kildare boss tonight

Dublin GAA announce new sponsorship deal with AIG

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel