The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Thursday 19 April, 2018

Ulster ‘wait and see’ on Marshall elbow injury

Ulster scrum-half Paul Marshall has damaged tendons in his elbow which could rule him out of the Heineken Cup semi-final.

Ulster's Paul Marshall leaves the field injured.
Ulster's Paul Marshall leaves the field injured.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

Updated 13.20

PAUL MARSHALL’S HEINEKEN Cup hopes have been left hanging in the balance by an elbow injury which could rule him out of next weekend’s semi-final against Edinburgh.

The Ulster scrum-half damaged his right elbow as he went over to score a try in Saturday’s RaboDirect Pro12 defeat against Connacht.

There were initial fears that Marshall, who broke his arm as a schoolboy, could have the suffered a similar injury again before an ultrasound scan revealed that there is tendon damage but no break.

Marshall has already been ruled out of Friday evening’s Pro12 clash against Leinster, and Ulster said this morning that they will continue to reassess the injury in the hope that he will be available for the Edinburgh game on 28 April.

Marshall tweeted: “Good news – nothing is broken, just have to see how my elbow mends over the coming days!

“Thanks for the kind tweets, had to wait on results!”

Ulster have no other fresh injury worries ahead of the Leinster match. Jared Payne, Simon Danielli, Chris Cochrane and Tim Barker are all still sidelined with long-term injuries.

Ulster squad to face Leinster

Forwards: Callum Black, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick, Adam Macklin, Paddy McAllister, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Rory Best, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller (c), Dan Tuohy, Iain Henderson, Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Pedrie Wannenburg, Ali Birch, Mike McComish, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack

Backs: Blane McIlroy, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Nevin Spence, Michael Allen, Stefan Terblanche, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy

Hyland appointed new Cavan manager

[embed id="embed_1"]

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel