The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 3 September, 2015

Van Persie claims Football Writers’ award ahead of Rooney and Scholes

Arsenal’s Dutch striker has added the FWA prize to the PFA award he won on Sunday night.

Image: Sang Tan/AP/Press Association Images

ROBIN VAN PERSIE has been named as the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year, just two days after claiming the PFA prize.

The 28-year-old Dutch forward took the prize in a landslide vote ahead of Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney, with Paul Scholes in third.

Van Persie’s 34 goals this season in all competitions has seen Arsenal climb to third in the Premier League. Arsene Wenger’s side are on the brink of Champions League qualification for next season, having usurped London rivals Tottenham and Chelsea with a run of seven wins in their last ten games.

FWA chairman Steve Bates, chief football writer at The People, said: “Robin was the overwhelming choice of our members this season and deservedly so after a magnificent campaign for Arsenal.

“The quality of his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season for the Gunners has been eye-catching,” he said.

“The considerable size of his majority in the votes cast by our members reflected the general view that he has been the season’s most outstanding individual performer.”

Van Persie will be presented with the award at a gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on Thursday, May 3.

Denmark puts Euro 2012 Twitter ban in place

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:

Comments (2 Comments)

Add New Comment