This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Friday 22 June, 2018

Jamie Barron's younger brother brought into Waterford minor team for play-off clash against Limerick

Waterford show four changes from their last game while Limerick make just one switch.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

THE WATERFORD MINOR hurling team shows four changes for Thursday’s play-off clash against Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

Manager James Lacey has shaken up every line of the field following last week’s 19 point defeat to Cork. U17 skipper Tadhg Foley from Ballygunner and Fourmilewater’s Tom Barron, brother of All-Star Jamie, come into defence ahead of Conor Giles-Doran and Matt Noonan.

Edward Cullen partners Sean Whelan-Barrett at midfield and Ian Beecher earns a recall in attack as Harry Ruddle and Gavin Dalton make way. Thomas Douglas captains the side from number fourteen.

Meanwhile, Limerick have made one change from the team that fell to Tipperary, with Daithi Heffernan replacing Bryan Curtain between the sticks.

Heffernan’s father Pat won a Munster SHC title with the Shannonsiders in 1994.

The winners of tonight’s game will join Cork, Clare and Tipperary in the provincial semis next month.

Additional reporting by Kevin O’Brien


1. Eoghan Browne (Mount Sion)

18. Dan Booth (Colligan)
3. James Flavin (Ardmore)
4. Tadhg Foley (Ballygunner)

5. Mairtín Power (Clonea)
6. Tom Barron (Fourmilewater)
7. Luke O’Brien (Mount Sion)

8. Sean Whelan-Barrett (Abbeyside)
9. Edward Cullen (Mount Sion)

10. Conor Whelan (Brickey Rangers)
11. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore)
12. Ian Beecher (Tallow)

13. Tom Looby (Abbeyside)
14. Thomas Douglas (De La Salle)
15. Billy Power (Clonea)


1. Daithi Heffernan (Mallow)

2. Conor Flahive (Mungret St Pauls)
3. Conor Nicholas, captain (Monaleen)
4. Ciaran Barry (Ahane)

5. Mikey O’Brien (Doon)
6. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
7. Dan Minehan (Ahane)

8. Michael O’Grady (Knockainey)
9. Rory Duff (Mungret St Pauls)

10. Paul O’Riordan (Bruff)
11. Paul O’Brien (Mungret St. Pauls)
12. David Woulfe (Kilmallock)

13. Dylan O’Shea (Garryspillane)
14. Ronan Connolly (Adare)
15. Ryan Tobin (Garryspillane)

16. Gearoid Barry (Kilmallock)
17. Kevin Bonar (Bruff)
18. Ken Byrnes (Old Christians)
19. Calvin Carroll (Patrickswell)
20. Jason Fitzgibbon (Cappamore)
21. David Moloney (Monaleen)
22. Brian O’Grady (Kilteely-Dromkeen)
23. Jack Ryan (Doon)
24. Eoin Sheehan (Garryspillane)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘Teams won’t take us lightly’ – Wicklow forward on life in New York and their Sligo defeat

Blow for Wexford hurler after injury leaves him ‘a major doubt’ for Leinster opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel