The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 30 July, 2015

#Winning

# winning - Monday 27 July, 2015

Brilliant finishing and comical defending help Mexico to Gold Cup glory

Mexico beat Jamaica 3-1 in the final last night.

# winning - Friday 24 July, 2015

From The Daily Edge This running magazine put a plus-size model on its cover and it’s winning so much praise Run This World

# winning - Monday 20 July, 2015

From TheJournal.ie Man who won Lotto plans cruise to see where trucks are made Slice Of Truck

Man who won Lotto plans cruise to see where trucks are made

He’s also giving money to Crumlin Children’s Hospital, which is sound.

# winning - Saturday 18 July, 2015

From TheJournal.ie Enda Kenny: ‘I expect to win the next election’ Winning

Enda Kenny: ‘I expect to win the next election’

The Taoiseach would not say if he would be interested in a job in Europe if he failed to get elected next time round.

# winning - Friday 17 July, 2015

No signs of Europa League hangover as Pat’s overcome Drogheda

Killian Brennan and Jamie McGrath were on target for the Saints.

New Zealand make light work of Argentina in Rugby Championship opener

The All Blacks outscored their visitors by five tries to two.

# winning - Friday 10 July, 2015

Just when Jordan Henderson thought his day couldn’t get any better…

The new Liverpool skipper has only been named alongside Lionel Messi on the front of Fifa 16.

# winning - Thursday 9 July, 2015

UCD hold on for historic Europa League triumph

The Students had held a 1-0 aggregate advantage from the first leg.

# winning - Wednesday 8 July, 2015

From TheJournal.ie Skipping an expensive dessert won this family half a million quid Jammy

Skipping an expensive dessert won this family half a million quid

“I was buying the dinner last night and had €3 in change,” the husband said.

# winning - Monday 6 July, 2015

Four years after costing her team a World Cup, Carli Lloyd scored a hat-trick in the final

Revenge is a dish best served four years later.

# winning - Saturday 4 July, 2015

Highlanders upset Hurricanes for first Super title

From the opening three minutes of helter-skelter rugby, the game was played at a relentless pace.

# winning - Saturday 27 June, 2015

Champs return to winning ways while Wexford kick off Camogie campaign with victory

There were also wins for Kilkenny and Tipperary.

# winning - Friday 26 June, 2015

Ireland’s 7-a-side football team guarantee place at Rio 2016

A 1-0 victory ensured the Irish side’s place at next year’s Paralympics.

# winning - Saturday 20 June, 2015

Dublin book place in Leinster MHC final after victory over Westmeath

The Dubs earned a comfortable victory ultimately, despite a tight first half.

# winning - Wednesday 17 June, 2015

Two of Ireland’s top boxers progress at European Games

Meanwhile, Longford native Derek Burnett finished joint-eighth out of 32 in Men’s Trap.

# winning - Saturday 6 June, 2015

Flu-ridden Serena Williams secures 20th Grand Slam win

See the moment Serena wrapped up victory.

# winning - Friday 29 May, 2015

Holders St Pat’s knock out Rovers and the rest of tonight’s FAI Cup action

There were also big wins this evening for Dundalk and Bohemians.

# winning - Wednesday 13 May, 2015

More good news for Roscommon football and Waterford hurling

Both counties can now boast GPA Player of the Month Award winners.

# winning - Saturday 9 May, 2015

Old dog, same trick! 37-year-old Jason Byrne was Bohs’ supersub

Bohs move third with a 2-1 win against Limerick.

# winning - Thursday 7 May, 2015

# winning - Friday 1 May, 2015

Jason Quigley maintained his 100% professional record with a devastating KO last night

The Irish boxer has now gone for six for six.

# winning - Friday 17 April, 2015

Irish teenager leads the show-jumping World Cup final

Bertram Allen is the man to catch after round one.

# winning - Friday 10 April, 2015

Who put the ball in the English net? Noonan and Ryan-Doyle did

The Ireland U17 women recorded a memorable victory yesterday.

# winning - Saturday 4 April, 2015

Antrim’s Cross and Passion claim All-Ireland schools hurling title in Thurles

The Antrim side made up for their 2014 heartache.

# winning - Saturday 28 March, 2015

Schutte-inspired Dublin beat Limerick to reach Allianz Hurling League semis

The full-forward blasted 1-5 at Croke Park, following up on his five points against Galway.

# winning - Tuesday 17 March, 2015

Rockwell overcome late Ardscoil rally to secure Munster Schools Senior Cup title

Meanwhile, RBAI beat Wallace High School 14-10 to win the Ulster Schools’ Cup.

# winning - Sunday 15 March, 2015

Ireland’s James McCarthy was on the scoresheet as Everton secured a vital victory today

Darron Gibson also completed a rare 90 minutes for the Toffees.

# winning - Wednesday 11 March, 2015

Dodging Bullets wins the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The 9/2 shot stayed on best up the Cheltenham hill.

# winning - Tuesday 3 March, 2015

‘I just kept telling myself the yips weren’t back again’ – Harrington on his Honda Classic triumph

“As much as I was struggling, I still would choose myself to read that putt and hit that putt.”

# winning - Saturday 28 February, 2015

Dominant Frampton defeats Avalos with fifth-round TKO to retain world title

The win represents the 20th consecutive victory of the Belfast native’s career.

# winning - Tuesday 24 February, 2015

WIT progress to final four of Fitzgibbon Cup after strong defensive effort

The home side limited their guests to only three scores from play over the 60.

# winning - Monday 26 January, 2015

From TheJournal.ie Greece’s new prime minister reckons Sinn Féin will win the election next year Alexis Tsipras

Greece’s new prime minister reckons Sinn Féin will win the election next year

Alexis Tsipras’s victory speech last night included a reference to Ireland.

# winning - Sunday 25 January, 2015

Sakho heads Hammers into the last 16 while Aston Villa push past Bournemouth

Paul Lambert’s side scored twice in a game for only the third time this season.

‘Winning is not our primary focus’ – Carolan drives development with Ireland U20s

The Connacht academy manager outlines the philosophy that will shape his Ireland U20s team.

# winning - Monday 5 January, 2015

From TheJournal.ie India has elected its first transgender mayor Untouchables

India has elected its first transgender mayor

Madhu Bai Kinnar beat out a rival from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party.

# winning - Sunday 4 January, 2015

From TheJournal.ie 6 strategies to win at office politics in 2015 Winning

# winning - Monday 29 December, 2014

Rory McIlroy is golf’s Christmas number one

The star started the year at number six, but ended it almost three ranking points clear of second-placed Henrik Stenson.

# winning - Sunday 21 December, 2014

Rory McIlroy named RTÉ Sports Person of the Year

Meanwhile, Joe Schmidt was named Manager of the Year and Brian O’Driscoll entered the Hall of Fame.

World champions and Man United debuts – Antrim’s 2014 sporting highlights

It was also a very good year for Paddy Barnes, Tony McCoy and cycling enthusiasts.

1 2 3 4 5