Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kenya's Rotich storms to Dublin City Marathon glory while Ukraine's Lehonkova claims women's title

Up to 20,000 people are pounding the pavements of the capital today.

Updated at 14.08

2017 SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon winner Benard Rotich.

Source: Ryan Byrne

KENYA’S BERNARD ROTICH has stormed to victory in the 2017 SSE Airtricity Dublin City Marathon with a time of 2:15:52.

Ukraine’s Yurii Ruskyuk (2nd) and Ethiopia’s Asefa Legese Bekele (3rd) finished in close pursuit in 2:15:55 and 2:15:58 respectively.

Ukraine’s Nataliya Lehonkova produced a strong run to take the women’s title in 2:28:57, while Ethiopia’s Ashu Kasim and Ukraine’s Viktoriya Khapilina crossed the line in second and third.

Nataliya Lehonkova crosses the line.

Source: Ryan Byrne

Freddie Sittuk of Raheny Shamrocks AC is the 2017 National Champion. His time of 2:16:05 bagged him the honour, while Clonliffe Harriers duo Gary O’Hanlon and Sergiu Ciobanu were next in.

Meanwhile, Mourne Runners’ Laura Graham has defended her National Championship title in a time of 2:39:05 The fastest Irish woman home clocked a time of 2:41:53 last year. Caitriona Jennings and Pauline Curley were next in.

Irish T53 wheelchair racer Patrick Monahan claimed the wheelchair title for the fourth consecutive time, crossing the line as the clock read 1:49:54. Richie Powell and Susanne McGrath followed him over the finish line.

Up to 20,000 people are taking part in this year’s marathon, with proceedings kicking off at 9am on Fitzwilliam Street.

The 26.2 mile route takes through the south city and into the Phoenix Park, before carrying on through Drimnagh, Terenure, Belfield and Ballsbridge, finishing in Merrion Square.

Source: Ryan Byrne

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon Results 2017


  1. Bernard Rotich: 02.15.52 – Kenya
  2. Yurii Ruskyuk: 02.15.55 – Ukraine
  3. Asefa Legese Bekele: 02.15.58 – Ethiopia


  1. Nataliya Lehonkova: 02.28.57 – Ukraine
  2. Ashu Kasim: 02.34.35 – Ethiopia
  3. Viktoriya Khapilina: 02.35.54 – Ukraine

Dublin Marathon National Championships Results


  1. Freddy Sittuk: 02.16.05 – Raheny Shamrocks AC
  2. Gary O’Hanlon: 02.18.52 – Clonliffe Harriers AC
  3. Sergiu Ciobanu:02.19.05 – Clonliffe Harriers AC


  1. Laura Graham: 02.39.06 – Mourne Runners
  2. Caitriona Jennings: 02.42.36 – Letterkenny AC
  3. Pauline Curley: 02.50.53 – Tullamore Harriers AC

Dublin Marathon Wheelchair Championship Results

  1. Patrick Monahan: 01.49.55
  2. Richie Powell: 02.15.28
  3. Susanne McGrath: 03.35.40

- The first version of this article stated Laura Graham’s time was 2:14:53 last year, when it was 2:41:53.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:



Ireland’s Seamus Power tied for third as final round in Mississippi calls

Week 8 NFL preview: The clocks are not the only thing that could fall back this weekend

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.