This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 20 February, 2019

Are you ready for the weekend? Here’s your National Football League team news

The pick of the action is in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday, where Aidan Walsh starts at full-forward for Cork against Kerry.

Aidan Walsh and his team-mates take to the pitch against Laois last weekend.
Aidan Walsh and his team-mates take to the pitch against Laois last weekend.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

CONOR COUNIHAN HAS named an unchanged Cork side for this weekend’s heavyweight clash against Kerry in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The Rebels picked up their second win of the league season away to Laois last weekend, and Counihan has stuck with the same starting XV for Sunday’s game against the Kingdom.

Aidan Walsh, who started at full-forward in Portlaoise and scored 0-3 from play, is named again alongside Donncha O’Connor and Colm O’Neill in the Cork attack.

For Kerry, manager Jack O’Connor has been forced to make one change as his side look to maintain momentum at the top of Division 1.

Full-back Daniel Bohan injured his ankle in last Sunday’s win against Donegal, and is replaced by Aidan O’Mahony. Tomás Ó Sé returns to the panel following his suspension and is named on the bench.

Cork: A Quirke; R Carey, E O’Mahony, E Cotter; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; A O’Connor, P O’Neill; F Goold, P Kerrigan, P Kelly; D O’Connor, A Walsh, C O’Neill.
Kerry: B Kealy; M Ó Sé, A O’Mahony, K Young; P Crowley, E Brosnan, B McGuire; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Darran O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan; BJ Keane, K Donaghy, P Curtin.


Na Fianna’s Johnny Cooper makes his first start for Dublin when the All-Ireland champions travel to Páirc Esler for Sunday’s Division 1 meeting with Down.

Cooper, who captained Dublin’s U21s to an All-Ireland in 2010 and starred in DCU’s Sigerson Cup win last month, impressed with a pair of points when introduced as a late substitute against Armagh last weekend. He comes in at corner-back in place of the suspended Philly McMahon, who was sent off for a second yellow card late on in the 4-17 to 1-10 win against the Orchard.

Cooper’s introduction is one of three changes made by Dubs boss Pat Gilroy. Stephen Cluxton returns in goal in place of Michael Savage, and Kevin McManamon is preferred to Tomás Quinn at centre-forward.

Down: TBA
Dublin: S Cluxton; D Daly, R O’Carroll, J Cooper; J McCarthy, G Brennan, C Dias; E Fennell, MD Macauley; P Brogan, K McManamon, P Flynn; D Connolly, E O’Gara, A Brogan.


Justin McNulty has made one personnel change as Laois look to get back to winning ways when they welcome fellow relegation strugglers Armagh to Portlaoise on Sunday.

Brendan Quigley comes in to partner John O’Loughlin in the O’Moore’s midfield, with Damien O’Connor the man to miss out in the reshuffle.

For Armagh, a new-look midfield pairing of Billy Joe Padden and Peter Carragher are two of the four changes made to the side which crumbled against Dublin last weekend.

Finnian Moriarty comes in at corner-back in place of Brendan Donaghy, who drops to the bench, while Gavin McParland’s impressive substitute performance and goal against the Dubs sees him preferred to John Kingham at corner-forward.

Laois: E Culleton; C Healy, K Lillis, P O’Leary; D Strong, K Meaney, C Boyle; B Quigley, J O’Loughlin; R Munnelly, C Begley, P Cahillane; MJ Tierney, A Kelly, B Sheehan.
Armagh: P McEvoy; A Mallon, D McKenna, F Moriarty; K Dyas, C McKeever, P Duffy; BJ Padden, P Carragher; A Forker, C Watters, A Duffy; C Rafferty, B Mallon, G McParland.

National Football League fixtures (Sunday, 2.30pm unless stated)

Division 1:

  • Down v Dublin
  • Laois v Armagh
  • Donegal v Mayo
  • Cork v Kerry (Sunday, 2.45pm)

Division 2:

  • Westmeath v Monaghan
  • Meath v Derry
  • Louth v Kildare
  • Galway v Tyrone

Division 3:

  • Wexford v Roscommon (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Cavan v Offaly
  • Longford v Antrim
  • Sligo v Tipperary

Division 4:

  • Wicklow v Limerick (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Kilkenny v Carlow (Sunday, 12.45pm)
  • Waterford v Fermanagh (Sunday, 1.30pm)
  • Clare v Leitrim

Tributes paid to O’Connor as Cork forward bows out

Kerry hurling boss cuts three brothers from panel for playing soccer game

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: