This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Friday 19 July, 2019

1-10 for Dean Rock as Ballymun open up Dublin SFC with comfortable win over St Brigid's

Rock also set-up Conor Kavanagh’s second-half goal.

Ballymun Kickhams 2-13

St Brigid’s 1-10

Kevin O’Brien reports from Parnell Park

ALL-STAR FORWARD Dean Rock bagged 1-10 as Ballymun Kickhams opened up their assault on the Dublin SFC with a six-point win over St Brigid’s.

Philly McMahon and John Small with Malachy Tighe Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

It was a comfortable victory for Ballymun, who led by 2-13 to 1-6 after 51 minutes and, despite a strong St Brigid’s finish, never looked like losing this one.

Former Westmeath manager Brendan Hackett is in his first campaign over Ballymun, with legendary figure Barney Rock part of his management team.

Hackett had to do without Footballer of the Year nominee James McCarthy due to a hamstring injury, but Ballymun did enough in the first and third quarters to take the two points in Parnell Park.

Despite McCarthy’s absence, Ballymun had a strong backbone of Dublin players, with Evan Comerford, Philly McMahon, John Small, Paddy Small and Rock all in the starting 15. Paddy Small was withdrawn at half-time, presumably, through injury, but Rock shouldered the scoring burden for the winners.

Paddy Andrews scored a couple of fine points and won the first-half penalty that Philip Ryan converted, but St Brigid’s scored just 0-5 from play and couldn’t handle the Ballymun attack at the far end.

John Small and Karl Keeley with Paddy Andrews Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

The Dublin SFC has changed to a group stage format this season, with Castleknock and Clontarf making up the rest of Group 4.

Ballymun, who haven’t been crowned champions since 2012, lost last year’s final to kingpins St Vincent’s by 1-8 to 0-8.

Ballymun had to wait 15 minutes for their first score from play by Fiach Andrews, but Rock had three placed balls on the board by that stage.

Ballymun raced into a 1-9 to 0-2 lead after Rock fisted a long delivery over Shane Supple into the net, with the Dublin full-forward responsible for 1-8 of that tally.

St Brigid’s finished the half on a strong note as Paddy Andrews clipped over a wonderful score and then was brought down for a penalty that was converted by Philip Ryan.

Alan Hubbard with Phillip Ryan Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Ballymun were six ahead at the interval and 11 minutes into the second-half they had another goal, this time through substitute Conor Kavanagh. Kavanagh found the net from close range after Ballymun turned their opponents over in midfield and Rock raced through before feeding his team-mate.

Furman and Rock (2) sent over further scores to leave their team 10 points ahead, but St Brigid’s finished strong down the home straight.

Gavin Kane, Ryan (2), McCarthy and Patrick Maguire raised white flags for St Brigid’s in the closing stages but it wasn’t enough.

Scorers for Ballymun Kickhams: Dean Rock 1-10 (0-6f, 0-1 45), Conor Kavanagh 1-0, Ted Furman, Liam O’Donovan and Fiach Andrews 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: Philip Ryan 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-2f),Lorcan McCarthy 0-3 (0-2f, 0-1 45), Paddy Andrews 0-2, Gerry Kane and Patrick Maguire 0-1 each.

Ballymun Kickhams

1. Evan Comerford

2. Philly McMahon
3. Eoin Dolan
4. Alan Hubbard

5. Karl Keeley
6. John Small
7. James Bourke

8. Jason Whelan
9. Aaron Elliot

10. Fiach Andrews
11. Davey Byrne
12. Liam O’Donovan

13. Paddy Small
14. Ted Furman
15. Dean Rock


20. Conor Kavanagh for Paddy Small (ht)
23. Leon Young for Bourke (44)
22. Karl Connolly for Hubbard (59)

St Brigid’s

16. Shane Supple

2. Sean Egan
11. Mark Cahill
4. Malachy Tighe

6. Alan Daly
5. Alan McCarrick
7. Paddy Maguire

8. John O’Loughlin
10. Niall Davey

14. Collie Carr
3. Gavin Kane
13. Lorcan McCarthy

12. Philip Ryan
9. Kevin Callaghan
15. Paddy Andrews


18. Cathal Doyle for Davey (ht)
19. Sean Murray for McCarrick (45)
21. Mark Donnelly for Carr (46)
20. Jerry Troy for Egan (47)

Referee: James King

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Shefflin as club manager, juggling two jobs with hurling and the eldest figure in the Kilkenny ranks

Opening group stage wins for Raheny and St Sylvester’s in Dublin SFC

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel