Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
O'Driscoll's glittering career spanned over 15 years.
O'Driscoll's glittering career spanned over 15 years.
Image: Andrew Matthews

Brian O'Driscoll becomes 11th Irish player to be inducted into World Rugby's Hall of Fame

The Irish legend is one of 12 former players to be recognised at a ceremony this week.
Nov 14th 2016, 3:12 PM 27,142 20

BRIAN O’DRISCOLL WILL join an illustrious group of players when he’s inducted into World Rugby’s Hall of Fame at a ceremony in London this week.

O’Driscoll is the eleventh Irish player to receive the accolade after Jack Kyle, Willie John McBride, Syd Millar, Tony O’Reilly, Mike Gibson, Ronnie Dawson, Keith Wood, Basil Maclear, Fergus Slattery and Tom Kiernan.

The former Leinster and Ireland centre will be inducted alongside 11 other legends of the game including Jonny Wilkinson, Lawrence Dallaglio and Shane Williams.

After making his international debut in 1999, O’Driscoll announced himself on the world stage with a sensational hat-trick against France in Paris the following year.

He would go on to become Ireland’s record cap holder with 133 test appearances and all-time record try scorer with 46 tries.

In 2009, the 37-year-old captained Ireland to a first Grand Slam in 61 years.

Brian O'Driscoll celebrates with Jack Kyle 2009 O'Driscoll with fellow Hall of Fame member Jack Kyle after Ireland's famous win in Cardiff. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Four England players, three Welshmen, a Scot, a Japanese legend, an Australian and a Canadian will be honoured at the ceremony on 17 November.

“The World Rugby Hall of Fame recognises those who have made an indelible mark on our sport through feats on the field of play, displays of great character or through their tireless and inspirational work in driving forward our great game,” World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said.

“The latest set of inductions includes some real legends, players who have helped to shape the image of rugby and inspire generations of fans. They are truly some of the biggest names in our sport and all have contributed immensely to the enjoyment we have all felt watching top-level rugby over the decades. Each of these 12 inductees has made a positive impression on the sport that will last the test of time.”

Confirmation of the class of 2016 takes the total number of inductees in World Rugby’s Hall of Fame to 132.

The 2016 Hall of Fame inductees:

Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland), Shane Williams (Wales), Jeremy Guscott (England), Lawrence Dallaglio (England), Heather Moyse (Canada), John Dawes (Wales), GPS Macpherson (Scotland), Arthur Gould (Wales), Jonny Wilkinson (England), Daniel Carroll (Australia and USA), Daisuke Ohata (Japan) and Maggie Alphonsi (England).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Henderson fit for New Zealand rematch, Kilcoyne and Sweetnam return to Munster

All Blacks legend Richie McCaw joins earthquake rescue effort

Send a tip to the author

Ryan Bailey


    Back to top