This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 22 October, 2019

Tipp star Bubbles given straight red but CIT rally to claim four-point win

John O’Dwyer scored eight points before he was dismissed in the 45th minute.

UUJ 1-14

CIT 1-18

TIPPERARY STAR JOHN ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer will miss the Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-finals after he received a straight red card in Cork IT’s win over Jordanstown today.

O’Dwyer was sent off in the 45th minute for striking UUJ defender Niall Devlin in a closely-fought Group D clash in Belfast.

CIT, who host this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup semi-finals and final, were made to battle all the way against a spirited home side, but a strong third quarter pulled them through.

O’Dwyer, who top-scored with eight points, hit five in the first half to help the visitors to a 0-10 0-9 half-time lead.

Nicky McKeague and James O’Connell with CIT's Michael Russell UUJ's Nicky McKeague and James O'Connell tussle with CIT's Michael Russell. Source: Presseye/Declan Roughan/INPHO

Antrim forward Nickey McKeague hit five points in the opening half, mostly from dead balls, to keep Jordanstown in touch.

Pa White’s goal early in the second half, after the UUJ goalkeeper Ruairi Courtney fumbled David Noonan’s long puck, put CIT in control.

The visitors outscored UUJ by 1-6 to 0-3 in a great spell after the break and led by 1-16 to 0-12 after 50 minutes.

James Connolly replied against 14-man CIT with a 53rd minute goal for Jordanstown, who now must beat GMIT in next week’s final round robin game to progress to the quarter-finals.

Scorers for UUJ: N McKeague 0-5 (3f, one ’65′), J Connolly 1-1, S McAfee 0-2, G Walsh 0-2 (2f), D McKernan, T O Ciaran, J McGreevy, J O’Connell 0-1 each.

Scorers for CIT: J O’Dwyer 0-8 (3f, 2 ’65s’), P White 1-0, A Coffey, M Kearney, J Cronin 0-2 each, C Hammersley, D Noonan, N McNamara 0-1 each, J Cashman 0-1 (f)


R Courtney (Armagh)

N Devlin (Antrim)
S Rooney (Antrim)
R Brannigan (Down)

G Walsh (Antrim)
T Mannion (Galway)
T O Ciaran (Antrim)

D McKernan (Antrim)
M Dudley (Antrim)

J McGreevy (Antrim)
S McAfee (Antrim)
A Kelly (Tyrone)

J Connolly (Antrim)
J O’Connell (Antrim)
N McKeague (Antrim)

A Dooey (Antrim) for Dudley (23)
J O’Dwyer (Derry) for McKeague (53)
M Dudley (Antrim) for Devlin (51)
M McCartin (Antrim) for Kelly (59)
A Curtin (Cork) for O’Connell (59).


G Minehan (Cork)

S Murphy (Cork)
M Russell (Cork)
C Hammersley (Tipperary)

D Noonan (Cork)
R Barry (Waterford)
A Coffey (Tipperary)

B Cooper (Cork)
B Reddan (Laois)

M Kearney (Waterford)
J Cronin (Cork)
R Hannelly (Limerick)

N McNamara (Cork)
J O’Dwyer (Tipperary)
P White (Cork)

J Cashman (Cork) for Reddan (HT)
K O’Neill (Cork) for Hannelly (HT)
A Dorgan (Cork) for White (53)
S Manning (Cork) for Noonan (58).

Referee: Brian Brady (Louth).

Byrnes inspires Limerick IT to narrow Fitzgibbon Cup victory over UCD

Five-star UL prevail in Fitzgibbon Cup Limerick derby

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Orla Bannon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel