This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 10 December, 2018

Ciaran Carey hands debut to All-Ireland minor football winner in league opener as Kerry boss

Kerry travel to O’Moore Park on Sunday to face Laois.

CIARAN CAREY HAS handed a debut to one of last year’s Kingdom All-Ireland minor football winners for his first league game as Kerry senior hurling manager next Sunday.

Kerry celebrate with the trophy The Kerry minor team that won last year's All-Ireland football title. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry travel to O’Moore Park in Portlaoise next Sunday afternoon to face Laois in Division 1B of the Allianz hurling league after winning league promotion last April.

And Carey has unveiled his starting side for the game with a starting debut handed to corner-forward Jack Goulding, a member of the Kerry squad that won the All-Ireland minor football crown last September.

Nine members of the Kerry side that defeated Derry in the Christy Ring Cup final last June are selected here. The teams is captained by right half-back Daniel Collins with former Clare hurler Patrick Kelly starting at midfield.

Ciaran Carey New Kerry hurling boss Ciaran Carey Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Two members of the successful Kerry minor hurling team from last year, John Buckley and Jason Diggins, are named on the bench along with last year’s Christy Ring Cup captain John Griffin.

Ballyduff players Paud Costelloe and Padraig Boyle continue their rehab from injury.


1. Martin Stackpoole (Lixnaw)

2. Sean Weir (Crotta O’Neills)
3. Bryan Murphy (Causeway)
4. Keith Carmody (Causeway)

5. Daniel Collins (Captain) (Kilmoyley)
6. Darren Dineen (St Brendan’s)
7. Tom Murnane (Kilmoyley)

8. Patrick Kelly (Clarecastle – Clare)
9. Tommy Casey (Causeway)

10. Shane Nolan (Crotta O’Neills)
11. Michael O’Leary (Abbeydorney)
12. Colum Harty (Causeway)

13. John Egan (St Brendan’s)
14. Mikey Boyle (Ballyduff)
15. Jack Goulding (Ballyduff)

16. Aidan McCabe (Kilmoyley)
17. Brendan Brosnan (Lixnaw)
18. John Buckley (Lixnaw)
19. Mike Milner (Dr Crokes)
20. Jordan Conway (Crotta O’Neills)
21. Jason Diggins (Causeway)
22. Dougie Fitzelle (Kilmoyley)
23. John Griffin (Lixnaw)
24. Philip Lucid (Ballyheigue)
25. James O’Connor (Abbeydorney)
26. Brendan O’Leary (Abbeydorney)

Tipperary hurlers hand debuts to Quinn and McCormack for Dublin clash

No room for excuses as Clare hurlers seek to recapture past glories

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel