This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 23 March, 2019

Bubbles and Walsh in scoring form as CIT beat UCD to clinch home Fitzgibbon quarter-final

The Tipperary and Cork senior forwards both showed up well tonight.

Aidan Walsh was in action for CIT in the Fitzgibbon Cup tonight.
Aidan Walsh was in action for CIT in the Fitzgibbon Cup tonight.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork IT 1-14
UCD 1-10

LAST YEAR’S FITZGIBBON Cup finalists Cork IT booked a home quarter-final tonight with a four-point win over UCD at their grounds in CIT.

A strong first-half display paved the way for CIT’s success as they sprinted into a 1-5 to 0-2 lead. Noel McNamara netted in the 15th minute for CIT after superb approach play that culminated in a pass from John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer played McNamara in.

At the break CIT were in front by 1-7 to 0-6 and they kept the scoreboard ticking over in the second-half with Tipperary senior John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer and Cork senior duo Aidan Walsh and Bill Cooper all chipping in as they went 1-11 to 0-9 clear approaching the third-quarter mark.

An excellent late individual goal by substitute Oisin O’Rorke gave UCD some hope but they were ultimately too reliant on corner-forward Ross King for scores and now face a last eight tie away to UL.

Both sides had their quarter-final places nailed down beforehand but the prize on offer of a home quarter-final was seized upon by CIT.

Elsewhere in Group B tonight, DCU beat St Pat’s-Mater Dei by 1-20 to 0-11 in a game that was academic as both were out of the running to reach the knockout stages.

Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final draw
Cork IT v NUI Galway
Waterford IT v Dublin IT
Limerick IT v It Carlow

Scorers for Cork IT: John O’Dwyer 0-4 (0-4f), Noel McNamara 1-1, Aidan Walsh 0-3, Bill Cooper, John Cronin 0-2 each, Jack Herlihy, Conor Hammersley 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: Ross King 0-8 (0-6f), Oisin O’Rorke 1-1, Colm Cronin 1-1.


1. Gary Minihane (Courcey Rovers, Cork)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock, Cork)
3. Alan Dennehy (Charleville, Cork)
4. Tomas Lawrence (Brian Dillons, Cork)

5. Jack Herlihy (Newtownshandrum, Cork)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet, Cork)
7. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh, Cork)

8. William Murphy (Meelin, Cork)
14. Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore, Tipperary)

12. Bill Cooper (Youghal, Cork)
11. John Cronin (Lisgoold, Cork)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk, Cork)

15. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline, Cork)
13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)
30. Noel McNamara (Kilworth, Cork)


1. Billy Leydon (O’Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny)

4. Sean Murphy (Monageer, Wexford)
3. Conor O’Shea (Clara, Kilkenny)
2. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna, Wexford)

19. Cian MacGabhann (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
6. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James, Wexford)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

8. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala, Dublin)
9. Pat Purcell (Laois)

10. Colm Cronin (Cuala, Dublin)
11. Conor Devitt (Ballyfad, Wexford)
12. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)

15. Ross King (Laois)
22. Caolan Conway (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
21. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)

1-18 for Paraic Mahony as 49-point win sees WIT into Fitzgibbon last eight with DJ Carey’s IT Carlow

Forde injury-time point for UL knocks UCC out of Fitzgibbon Cup as NUIG and DIT also progress

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: