Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 17 April 2021

Cork overcome 8-point deficit to defeat Clare and retain Munster hurling crown

45,364 in attendance in Semple Stadium today.

Cork players celebrate their victory.
Cork players celebrate their victory.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Cork 2-24
Clare 3-19

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

FOR THE SECOND successive summer Cork have defeated Clare to clinch honours in Munster and the manner of this victory meant it was a deeply satisfying triumph in Thurles.

Trailing by eight points before the break, Cork recovered to cut the gap to four at half-time and took charge in the second half. Patrick Horgan top scored with 0-11 while captain Seamus Harnedy was magnificent in contributing 1-4 from play.

A late goal by Ian Galvin served as a consolation for a Clare team that could not maintain their blistering start.

Clare settled quickly to the rhythms of the contest and were aided in their efforts to dictate the play by the two first-half goals that they registered. David Reidy lashed home a shot in the 17th minute after being played into space following a surging Tony Kelly run from deep.

Their second goal was straightforward in its creation as goalkeeper Donal Tuohy’s long-range free was met by a swing of Peter Duggan’s hurley to result in another green flag being raised.

amie Shanahan and Daniel Kearney Clare's Jamie Shanahan in action against Cork's Daniel Kearney. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

John Conlon caused chaos in the Cork defence in the opening period. He had three points from play to his credit by the 12th minute, added another two before the break and saw his marker changed with Colm Spillane swapping with Damien Cahalane.

Trailing 2-11 to 0-9 at the interval, Cork were struggling badly. But their hopes were rescued somewhat when Luke Meade finished neatly to the net after being set up by Seamus Harnedy and then Mark Coleman pointed a sweetly-struck sideline cut. Four in it at the break, 2-11 to 1-10, with Clare in the driving seat.

John Meyler celebrates with his son David Cork boss John Meyler with his son David after the game. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Yet Cork built on that scoring spree before half-time. They struck the first three points of the second half, then conceded a pointed free through Peter Duggan, and hit four more without reply to edge in front, 1-17 to 2-12 by the 48th minute.

The match hung in the balance for a while as Clare drew level before the gamebreaking score arrived for Cork in the 58th minute, captain Harnedy finishing to the net with aplomb after a fine team move involving Darragh Fitzgibbon and Bill Cooper.

From there Cork kicked on as they notched a series of points and a late Galvin goal could not engineer a Clare fightback.

Jerry O'Sullivan presents the trophy to Seamus Harnedy Cork captain Seamus Harnedy raises the trophy aloft. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-11 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65), Seamus Harnedy 1-4, Luke Meade 1-1, Mark Coleman (0-1 sideline cut), Bill Cooper, Daniel Kearney 0-2 each, Conor Lehane 0-1.

Scorers for Clare: Peter Duggan 1-7 (0-6f), John Conlon 0-5, David Reidy 1-2, Ian Galvin 1-0, Podge Collins 0-2, Colm Galvin, Conor McGrath, Tony Kelly 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

10. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s – captain)

13. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


24. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own) for Kingston (59)
22. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Meade (64)
20. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk) for Kearney (65)
23. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers) for McLoughlin (inj) (73)


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

2. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber – captain)
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
9. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)

10. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

13. Podge Collins 
14. John Conlon (Clonlara)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)


18. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Malone (50)
25. Conor McGrath (Cratloe) for O’Donnell (55)
19. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Shanahan (60)
26. Darragh Corry (Tulla) for Reidy (63)
23. Ian Galvin (Clonlara) for Cleary (68)

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

From Munster final day to life in Melbourne and watching on from San Francisco

‘We’d a vested interest because Timmy Mac was playing’: 99 memories as Cork eye Munster double

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel