Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Tom Beary/INPHO Clare's Cian Dillon and Ryan O'Dwyer of Dublin.
# Comeback is on
Clare return to winning ways and surge up the table as they take valuable points from Dublin
A gritty second half performance was enough as Clare won by two points.

Clare 0-20

Dublin 1-15

Eoin Brennan reports from Cusack Park

A GRITTY FINAL quarter surge ensured that Clare finally overtook their stubborn visitors to bounce back to winning ways in Division 1A of the National Hurling League in front of 4,370 this afternoon.

It wasn’t a classic by any means but with both sides craving the points to steer away from relegation danger, the hosts fought back from a five point deficit to outscore Dublin by 0-9 to 0-2 in the last 25 minutes to get over the line for only their second win of the campaign.

The Banner also had the better of the opening quarter but hesitancy in their defence allowed Ryan O’Dwyer to nip in for a 19th minute goal that put his side 1-4 to 0-5 clear.
It was an advantage that the wind-assisted Dubs would only bolster by half-time as they finished the half with six of the last nine scores, two from Niall McMorrow to hold a 1-10 to 0-08 interval cushion.

A resurgent Clare, now backed by the conditions, fired the first three points of the new half through David Reidy (2) and inspirational corner-back Seadna Morey to cut the arrears to just two by the 40th minute. However, Dublin would initially resist with three superb points of their own through Ben Quinn, Chris Crummey and Eamon Dillon to restore a five point lead at 1-13 to 0-11.

Podge Collins and Ben Quinn Tom Beary / INPHO Clare's Podge Collins and Ben Quinn of Dublin in action. Tom Beary / INPHO / INPHO

Despite the use of Liam Rushe as a sweeper, Dublin were simply unable to maintain that momentum however as the home side’s persistence eventually began to pay dividends.
Aron Shanagher hit the post amidst a five point rally in 13 minutes as Morey fired his second to finally reel in the visitors at 0-16 to 1-13 by the 57th minute.

And while Dublin substitute Chris Bennett did nudge his side back in front soon afterwards, it was only a brief reprieve as opposition replacements Jason McCarthy, Aaron Cunningham and Ian Galvin — who was reintroduced to complete a three point haul — all struck decisive points to maintain their perfect home record.

Scorers for Clare: David Reidy 0-8 (7f), Ian Galvin 0-3, Jamie Shanahan, Seadna Morey (0-2 each),  David Fitzgerald, Podge Collins, Cathal McInerney, Jason McCarthy, Aaron Cunningham (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dublin: Niall McMorrow, Chris Bennett (2f, 1’65) (0-3 each), Ryan O’Dwyer (1-0), Donal Burke (2f), Eamon Dillon, Ben Quinn (0-2 each), Liam Rushe, Fiontán McGibb, Chris Crummey (0-1 each).


1. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)

5. David McInerney (Tulla)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen) (Captain)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

22. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)

14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
18. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
13. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)


15. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe) for Galvin (25 mins)
2. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Shanahan (50 mins)
25. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Duggan (55 mins)
13. Ian Galvin for Collins (61 mins)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
4. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)

7. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Liam Rushe (St Patrick’s Palmerstown)
17. Cian MacGabhann (Kilmacud Crokes)

5. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
22. Domhnall Fox (St Jude’s)

13. Fiontán McGibb (Setanta)
8. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)

14. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)
11. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)


24. Chris Bennett (Faughs) for Burke (31 mins)
9. Caolán Conway (Kilmacud Crokes) for McBride (39 mins)
23. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for McGibb (50 mins)
26. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunketts) for O’Sullivan (63 mins)
19. Fionn Ó Riann Broin (St Jude’s) for Madden (67 mins, inj)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Harnedy and Shanahan sent-off as Cork move up to third with commanding win over the Deise

Wexford clinch Division 1A promotion with fourth straight win in Tullamore

Your Voice
Readers Comments