Skip to content

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
John O'Dwyer and Tony Kelly were the star men yesterday.
John O'Dwyer and Tony Kelly were the star men yesterday.
Image: INPHO

Do you agree with the selections for the Sunday Game man-of-the-match awards?

The Clare and Tipperary forwards were both honoured.
May 13th 2019, 11:35 AM 9,330 2

SCORING STARS WERE the main men on the opening afternoon of the 2019 Munster senior hurling championship.

Clare saw off Waterford narrowly in Walsh Park while Tipperary ran out decisive winners over Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and it was a pair of attackers who were rewarded with the individual honours.

Ballyea’s Tony Kelly, the 2013 Hurler of the Year, shot 0-5 from play in Clare’s victory while Killenaule’s John O’Dwyer bagged 0-7 from play in Tipperary’s success.

The pair received the RTÉ Sunday Game man-of-the-match awards as their teams made strong starts to the provincial action. 

Do you agree with the man-of-the-match winners? Let us know.

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top