Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Tuesday 26 January 2021

St Brigid's the kingpins in Roscommon once again as Ramor United win in Cavan

Meanwhile in London, St Kiernan’s stunned defending champions Tir Chonaill Gaels.

Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

ST BRIGID’S WRAPPED up their ninth Roscommon SFC title since 2005 thanks to two late goals in a topsy-turvy encounter in Kiltoom.

St Brigid’s looked in control after 21 minutes, leading by 0-7 to 0-1.

Seán Fahy’s goal before the break gave Padraig Pearses hope and they found themselves level eight minutes after the restart.

Brigid’s made a push for home with scores from Darren Dolan, Garvan Dolan and Brian Stack, but a goal from Pearses’ Hubert Darcy wiped out that lead in the final quarter.

Karol Mannion drilled a penalty over the bar for Brigid’s, before man-of-the-match Ian Kilbride and skipper Darragh Donnelly netted a goal apiece to hand St Brigid’s their 15th county title.

Garvan Dolan and Nially Daly were dismissed in the stoppage-time as both sides finished with 14 men. St Brigid’s will take on Leitrim’s Aughawillan in the Connacht semi-final.

In Cavan, Ramor United lifted the county title for the first time in 24 years after a 0-10 to 0-8 win over Castlerahan.

It was Castlerahan’s third final defeat in six seasons, this one coming in a replay. The sides were level at 0-5 apiece at half-time. Second-half scores from Adrian Cole, Conor Bradley and county man Jack Brady, who was introduced off the bench, were enough to seal the win for Ramor.

Finally St Kiernan’s were crowned champions in London for the first time after a shock seven-point win over defending champions Tir Chonaill Gaels.

The St Kiernan’s club was only founded 31 years ago, and they led by 0-6 to 0-2 after dominating the opening exchanges.

After half-time Tir Chonaill Gaels, who were seeking their third title in five years, managed to score just once before stoppage-time. By that stage the game was long over, and Kiernan’s were well on the road to victory.

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels back in Mayo final after win over Ballintubber

1-11 for Pauric Mahony as Ballygunner complete Waterford hurling three-in-a-row

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel