This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 19 °C Saturday 30 May, 2020

Cork captain turns to management as Chríost Rí win Munster Frewen Cup title

Paul Kerrigan was involved as Chríost Rí saw off St Flannan’s.

Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Coláiste Chríost Rí 2-10
St Flannan’s College 2-7

Eoin Brennan reports from Killeedy

COLÁISTE CHRÍOST RÍ claimed their first Frewen Cup (Munster Under 16 1/2 A FC) title in 24 years this afternoon after finally brushing off the stubborn challenge of St Flannan’s College in Killeedy in Limerick.

Cork senior football captain Paul Kerrigan was part of the Chríost Rí management as they saw off their Clare opponents by three points.

Leading by nine points with just over 20 minutes remaining, after early goals in each half through Cillian Myers Murray and Daniel Lucey, the Cork college appeared certain to claim their first major footballing crown since the 2011 Corn Uí Mhuiri triumph.

However, they would still have to endure a nervous finish after St Flannan’s rallied significantly thanks to Philip Talty’s goal entering the final quarter that inspired a 1-4 unanswered tally to cut the deficit to just three.

With a strong cross-field wind dictating matters, the sides had swapped first-quarter goals from Chríost Rí captain Myers Murray and Conor Brannock to remain on level terms.

However, the Cork side eventually put some daylight between the sides with the last six points of the half, including three eye-catching, left-footed efforts from Mark Cronin to take a 1-8 to 1-2 advantage at the break.

A second goal on the restart only strengthened Chríost Rí’s belief but to their credit, the Clare college managed to summon up a powerful recovery that was only quashed by a relieving late brace from Mark Brosnan.

Scorers for Coláiste Chríost Rí: Mark Brosnan 0-4; Cillian Myers Murray, Daniel Lucey 1-1 each; Mark Cronin 0-3; Ronan Dalton 0-1

Scorers for St Flannan’s College: Conor Brannock, Philip Talty 1-2 each; Gearoid Cahill 0-2 (2f); Eoghan Thynne 0-1 (1f)

Coláiste Chriost Rí

1. Cian Purcell (Nemo Rangers)

2. Ciaran O’Mahony (St Finbarr’s)
3. Andrew McGowan (Nemo Rangers)
4. John Corcoran (Nemo Rangers)

5. Sean Turner (Nemo Rangers)
6. Jack O’Brien (St Finbarr’s)
7. Jack O’Brien (Nemo Rangers)

8. Luke Hannigan (St Finbarr’s)
9. Kyle Forde (Nemo Rangers)

10. Sam Hanley (Nemo Rangers)
14. Ronan Dalton (Nemo Rangers)
22. Mark Brosnan (Carrigaline)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
11. Daniel Lucey (Mayfield)
15. Cillian Myers Murray (St Finbarr’s)


19. Ethan Varian (St Finbarr’s) for O’Mahony (48)
18. Adam Thornhill (Nemo Rangers) for Hanley (58).

St Flannan’s College

1. Tom O’Brien (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)

2. Darragh Hickey (Banner)
3. John Finnucane (Kilmihil)
4. Liam McGrath (Corofin)

7. Gearoid Collins (Éire Óg)
6. Darragh O’Shea (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)
5. Ikem Ugwueru (Éire Óg)

8. Ian Molloy (Banner)
9. Ronan Cahill (Kilmaley)

12. Ronan Collins (Banner)
11. Gearoid Cahill (Corofin)
10. Eoghan Thynne (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)

13. Philip Talty (Éire Óg)
14. Niall Galvin (Clarecastle)
15. Conor Brannock (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield).


20. Killian McDermott (Clarecastle) for Hickey (39)
19. Kevin Keane (Corofin) for Galvin (50)
18. Stephen Talty (Éire Óg) for R Collins (58).

Referee: Michael Meade (Limerick).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Tipperary hurlers get two players back but lose two more to injury ahead of Waterford clash

Jack O’Connor missing 4 All-Ireland minor winners for Kerry’s Munster U21 opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next: