This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Tipperary book third successive Munster U21 final place with eight-point win over Clare

The Premier are through to the final on 8 April.

Colin O'Riordan captained the Tipperary U21 footballers tonight.
Colin O'Riordan captained the Tipperary U21 footballers tonight.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Tipperary 0-15
Clare 0-7

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

TIPPERARY CAME GOOD late on at Semple Stadium last night to book their place in the EirGrid Munster U21 FC final.

Jason Lonergan scored 0-5 as the Premier County advanced to a third successive provincial decider against Cork, a game which will be played in Thurles on 8 April.

Tipp scored the last four points of this evening’s semi-final against Clare in chilly Thurles and could have had a late goal but for the heroics of Banner county netminder Killian Normoyle, who denied sub Gerry Cronin.

But Tipp will be happy to have got through this one as it took them a while to get into their rhythm against a Clare side with last week’s quarter-final victory over Waterford under their belts.

In front of 640 spectators, Tipp were 0-7 to 0-4 clear at half-time and while Clare got back to within two points the break, the hosts kicked on for a comfortable win.

Lonergan was the star of the show but had scoring contributions from eight other players on the night – including a brace each from senior midfielders Liam Casey and Steven O’Brien.

Steven OÕBrien 12/7/2014 Steven O'Brien was in action for Tipperary tonight. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Senior hurling panellist John McGrath was also on target while in contrast, Clare’s first score from play didn’t arrive until the 34th minute, scored by Jamie Malone.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Lonergan 0-5, Liam Casey & Steven O’Brien 0-2 each, Colin O’Riordan, Bill Maher, Ian Fahey, Paul Maher, John McGrath & Josh Keane (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Keelan Sexton 0-4f, Jamie Malone 0-2, Paddy O’Malley 0-1f.


1. ​Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

2. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Colin O’Riordan Capt. (JK Brackens)
6. Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers)
7. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)

12. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
10. Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch Drombane)

13. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)
14. John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
15. Josh Keane (Golden Kilfeacle)

21. Dean McEnroe (JK Brackens) for Keane (44)
20. Gerry Cronin (Ardfinnan) for Shanahan (50)
23. Tommy Sweeney (Ballyporeen) for P Maher (57)


1. Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey)

2. Cian O’Mahoney (Doonbeg)
3. Jack O’Dea (Kilfenora)
4. Conor Brennan Capt. (Éire Óg)

5. Darren Nagle (Liscannor)
6. Conor O’Brien (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
7. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

22. Eoin Hanrahan (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
9. Jamie Malone (Corofin)

10. Liam Corry (Éire Óg)
11. Paddy O’Malley (Éire Óg)
12. Dale Masterson (St Breckans)

13. Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil)
14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
15. Evan Courtney (Éire Óg)

21. Damien Burke (Cooraclare) for Hanrahan (28)
23. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Milltown) for Masterson (h.t.)
19. Maccon Byrne (St Breckans) for Corry (h.t.)
17. Jim Downes (O’Currys) for O’Malley (41)
24. Niall Bonfil (Naomh Eoin) for Courtney (58)
18. Conor MacNelis (Clondegad) for O’Mahoney (60+1)

Referee: James Bermingham (Cork)

This article was first published on 18 March at 21.04pm

Cork claim semi-final win and see off Kerry for fifth year in a row in Munster U21FC

Dublin triumph against brave Longford in five-goal Leinster U21 football semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: