Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Friday 7 May 2021

'Gooch' in to start for Kerry as hosts Mayo make 2 changes for Castlebar clash

The Kingdom will make the trip to Castlebar to take on Stephen Rochford’s Mayo.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

COLM ‘GOOCH’ COOPER will make his first Allianz Football League start of the season when Kerry visit Mayo on Sunday.

Cooper’s return is one of three changes in personnel made by boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice ahead of the Division 1 McHale Park clash.

Brendan Kealy starts in goal ahead of Brian Kelly as Fitzmaurice continues his rotation policy between the sticks.

Elsewhere, Johnny Buckley comes in for Denis Daly and Cooper replaces the suspended Alan Fitzgerald, who was red-carded in last Sunday’s heated victory over Donegal.

There are two welcome additions to the subs list as Michael Geaney and Kieran O’Leary return from long-term injury.

Geaney has been out since the All-Ireland quarter-final victory over Kildare last year while O’Leary, Kerry’s 2014 All-Ireland winning joint-captain, is back after missing all of last season with a serious Achilles Tendon problem.

Tommy Walsh, Killian Young and David Moran are still nursing knocks and are not part of the matchday squad.

Kerry have also confirmed tonight that long-term absentees Paul Geaney, Anthony Maher and James O’Donoghue are expected to return to training next month.

Meanwhile, Mayo have made two changes to the team that started last Sunday’s win against Monaghan in Clones.

Chris Barrett and Jason Doherty replace U21 pair Michael Hall and Conor Loftus.


1.   Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy)

2.   Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3.   Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4.   Chris Barrett (Belmullet)

5.   Lee Keegan (Westport)
6.   Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7.   Shane Nally (Garrymore)

8.   Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
9.   Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)

10.  Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
11.  Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12.  Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

13.  Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14.  Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
15.  Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)


1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin

2. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
3. Mark Griffin   St Michaels/Foilmore
4. Shane Enright Tarbert

5. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers
6. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore
7. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes

8. Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks
9. Bryan Sheehan (C) St Marys

10. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes
11. Paul Murphy Rathmore
12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane

13. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar
14. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes
15. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare


16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
17. Denis Daly St Marys
18. Padraig O’Connor Killarney Legion
19. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys
20. Aidan Walsh St Marys
21. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar
22. Brendan O’Sullivan Valentia
23. Philip O’Connor Cordal
24. Michael Geaney Dingle
25. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion
26. Kieran O’Leary Dr Crokes

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kingston replaces Nash in goal as Cork hurlers make 5 changes for Kilkenny clash

Here’s the Monaghan football team to face Cork on Sunday

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel