This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 20 August, 2019

10 changes for Connacht as Carty, O'Halloran and Heenan return

Pat Lam has heavily rotated his squad with several players making comebacks.

CONNACHT HAVE MADE 10 changes for tomorrow’s Guinness Pro12 meeting with Benetton Treviso at Stadio Monigo [KO 6.30pm Irish time, TG4].

Pat Lam has brought Jack Carty back into his XV, with the out-half having made his return from spleen surgery in the victory over Munster two weekends ago. John Cooney comes into the side at scrum-half.

Jack Carty Carty is back in the 10 shirt for Connacht. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Fullback Tiernan O’Halloran is also back in the Connacht team after recovering from a knee injury, while Jake Heenan makes his comeback at openside flanker.

Fionn Carr starts on the wing, after Matt Healy suffered a minor back injury in training last week, while academy player Rory Parata – another just back from injury – is picked in midfield alongside Peter Robb.

In the front row, Ronan Loughney and Rodney Ah You have been selected either side of hooker Tom McCartney, who will captain Connacht against Treviso.

Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne form the lock partnership, while Eoin McKeon shifts to number eight. AJ MacGinty and Caolin Blade are both back from injury to take spots on the bench alongside Robbie Henshaw.

IRFU man Peter Fitzgibbon will referee the tie.


15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Niyi Adeolokun
13. Rory Parata
12. Peter Robb
11. Fionn Carr
10. Jack Carty
9. John Cooney

1. Ronan Loughney
2. Tom McCartney (captain)
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Quinn Roux
5. Andrew Browne
6. Sean O’Brien
7. Jake Heenan
8. Eoin McKeon


16. Dave Heffernan
17. JP Cooney
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Aly Muldowney
20. John Muldoon
21. Caolin Blade
22. AJ MacGinty
23. Robbie Henshaw

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon [IRFU].

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘To win a Test series would be really special’ – Sexton on South Africa tour

O’Donnell predicts bright future if Munster can attack huge Edinburgh tie

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel