Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Saturday 5 December 2020

Cork hurlers unveil side for crunch qualifier clash with Clare

The teams clash in Semple Stadium next Saturday evening.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

CORK HAVE NAMED an unchanged side for Saturday’s crunch All-Ireland hurling qualifier clash against Clare.

The Rebels have kept the faith with the team that saw off Wexford last Saturday as they bounced back from their Munster semi-final loss to Waterford.

There are changes amongst the Cork subs with Shane O’Neill, Patrick Collins and Luke O’Farrell all returning to the fray instead of Brian O’Sullivan, Luke Meade and Andy Walsh.

O’Neill has recovered from an ankle injury while O’Farrell is available again after being suspended last Saturday following the red card he was shown against Waterford in last month’s Munster semi-final.

Throw-in on Saturday in Semple Stadium is 7pm.


1.  Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2.  Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
3.  Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
4.  Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)

5.  Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
6.  Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7.  Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8.  Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9.  Bill Cooper (Youghal)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Conor Lehane celebrates scoring the first goal of the game Conor Lehane celebrates hitting the net for Cork against Wexford last week Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
18. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
19. Killian Burke (Midleton)
20. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
21. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
25. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
26. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

Cork crowned Munster hurling champions with narrow win over Limerick

Wexford hammer Kilkenny by 17 points to claim Leinster U21 hurling three-in-a-row

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel