This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 5 July, 2020

Ex Cork senior hurling goalkeeper Coleman to captain county's intermediate side

Cork face Clare in Sunday’s curtain-raiser at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick.

Cork's Martin Coleman.
Cork's Martin Coleman.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

FORMER CORK SENIOR goalkeeper Martin Coleman is to captain the county’s intermediate hurling side in Sunday’s Munster semi-final against Clare.

Coleman, who last lined out for the county’s senior team in last year’s league final defeat against Kilkenny in Semple Stadium, will lead the intermediate team out for the curtain-raiser in the Gaelic Grounds which throws in at 1.45pm.

The Cork side also contains players who were recently released from Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s senior squad in attackers Peter O’Brien and Adrian Mannix, and defender Michael Walsh.

O’Brien was in action for the Cork seniors when they lost out to Clare in the league in Páirc Uí Rinn in March.

Corner-back John O’Callaghan, full-back Eoin Dillon, centre-back Ross Cashman and full-forward Kevin Canty are also players with previous senior experience with Cork.

Wing-forward Brian Lawton won a Fitzgibbon Cup medal with UCC this year while Cork U21 footballer Mark Sugrue is included amongst the substitutes.

CORK: Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig); John O’Callaghan (Inniscarra), Eoin Dillon (Milford), Ed Finn (Ballinhassig); Tadhg Healy (Buttevant), Ross Cashman (Kilbrittain), Michael Walsh (Kildorrery); John Cronin (Lisgoold), Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig); Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr), Peter O’Brien (Kildorrery), Stephen Dineen (Ballinhassig); Colm Casey (Inniscarra), Kevin Canty (Valley Rovers), Adrian Mannix (Kilworth).
Subs: James McSweeney (Bandon), Brian O Sullivan (Fermoy), John Carey (Dripsey), Colm Barry (Castlelyons), Nicky Kelly (Mayfield), Mark Kennefick (Ballygarvan), Barry Lawton (Castlemartyr), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Anthony Watson (Milford).

Clare have yet to name their side but have the benefit of a game under their belts in the Munster quarter-final victory over Waterford earlier this month.

The Banner were triumphant by 2-21 to 0-16 in a clash played at Semple Stadium with ace attacker Gary Guilfoyle and Aidan Lynch contributing 2-9 between them.

Clare included Killian Ryan, corner-back on last year’s All-Ireland U21 winning side, in their defence and Niall Arthur, who struck the match-winning goal against Tipperary in last summer’s Munster U21 hurling final, in attack. Man-of-the-match in that All-Ireland U21 decider Cathal O’Connell came on as a substitute the last day for the Clare intermediate hurlers.

In addition from that intermediate team, defenders Jack Browne and Enda Boyce, midfielders Pa Sheehan and Jarlath Colleran, and attacker Cathal Malone were all part of the U21 panel last year.

Why were some Cork hurlers over an hour late for match against Clare in February?

Cronin on the bench as Cork name team for Championship opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel