Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.
Shane Kingston celebrating scoring a goal against Limerick last year.
Shane Kingston celebrating scoring a goal against Limerick last year.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

6 players from Harty Cup finalists on Cork minor hurling panel for Munster quarter-final

Rochestown College backbone the Rebels hurling squad.
Apr 3rd 2015, 3:15 PM 5,927 0

CORK HAVE NAMED six members of the Rochestown College team that reached the Dr Harty Cup final in February in their panel for next Wednesday’s Munster minor hurling quarter-final against Limerick.

Cork are hoping to gain revenge for last year’s semi-final loss to Limerick in this grade with Shane Kingston and John Looney the only survivors from the players who lined out in that game.

Attacker Kingston is one of six Rochestown College players included. The others from that schools team are defenders Donncha Murphy, John Cashman and David Griffin, midfielder Eoghan O’Brien and wing-forward Ciaran Cormack.

St Finbarr’s player Conor Cahalane is a brother of Cork senior hurler Damien while David Lowney was a Cork minor footballer last year.

Cork take on Limerick next Wednesday 8 April at 7.30pm in Páirc Uí Rinn while the other minor quarter-final that night sees Tipperary face Waterford in Semple Stadium.


  1. Matt Bradley (Aghabullogue)
  2. John Looney (Aghada)
  3. Robert Bourke (Ballincollig)
  4. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)
  5. John Cashman (Blackrock)
  6. Ciaran Cormack (Blackrock)
  7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
  8. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
  9. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)
  10. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
  11. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
  12. Barry Kenneally (Cuchulainns)
  13. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
  14. Donncha Murphy (Douglas)
  15. Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas)
  16. Sean Howard (Dromtariffe)
  17. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
  18. Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neill’s)
  19. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neill’s)
  20. Darragh O’Brien (Killeagh /Ita’s)
  21. Kevin Murphy (Killeagh/Ita’s)
  22. Jeremy Saich (Kilworth)
  23. Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton)
  24. Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh)
  25. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
  26. Donal English (Sarsfields)
  27. Liam Healy (Sarsfields)
  28. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
  29. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
  30. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs)
  31. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)

How many of these past schools hurling stars can you recognise?

Tipp could be set to launch another appeal of Seamus Callanan’s red card

Send a tip to the author

Fintan O'Toole


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top