This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

There's a new dual senior club in Cork following today's county final

Newcestown had it easy against Valley Rovers at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Carthach Keane scored 0-3 for Newcestown.
Carthach Keane scored 0-3 for Newcestown.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Newcestown 1-23
Valley Rovers 0-8

NEWCESTOWN WERE IN devastating form as they claimed the Cork Premier IHC title with an 18-point win over Valley Rovers at Páirc Uí Rinn today.

The west Cork outfit, operating at senior football level since 2011, will now become the first non-city club to be senior in both codes since Ballincollig at the start of the millennium.

A close game had been expected and a scoreline of 0-3 each at the end of the first quarter seemed to bear this out, but Newcestown’s territorial dominance was already evident by a burgeoning wides tally.

They found their sights, however, to lead by 0-10 to 0-4 at half-time, with Daniel Twomey, Jack Meade and Carthach Keane impressive in attack, and the flow continued upon the resumption.

Valleys did have points from Chris O’Leary and Darragh Crowley but Newcestown were simply unstoppable, with subs Mikey Bradfield and Colm Dineen adding further points while Daniel Twomey finished with 1-5 as he netted a late penalty.

Scorers for Newcestown: Daniel Twomey 1-5 (two frees, one 65), Carthach Keane, Seán O’Donovan, Luke Meade, Eoin Kelly (two frees), Mikey Bradfield 0-3 each, Jack Meade 0-2, Colm Dineen 0-1.

Scorers for Valley Rovers: Chris O’Leary 0-4 (three frees), Kevin Canty 0-2, Jack Walsh, Darragh Crowley 0-1 each.


Darren Heffernan

Micheál McSweeney
Greg Murphy
John Crowley

Conor O’Neill
James Desmond
Fionn Keane

Tadhg Twomey
Jack Meade

Luke Meade
Carthach Keane
Cian Twomey

Seán O’Donovan
Eoin Kelly
Daniel Twomey


Mikey Bradfield for E Kelly (45)
Seány Ryan for T Twomey (50, injured)
Trevor Horgan for C Keane (54)
Colm Dineen for C Twomey (56)

Valley Rovers

Willie Burke

Cormac Desmond
Noel O’Donovan
Tomás O’Brien

Darragh Murphy
David Lynch
Joseph Lynch

Gary Farrell
Darragh Looney

Eoin O’Reilly
Jack Walsh
Fiachra Lynch

Kevin Canty
Chris O’Leary
Richie Butler


John Cottrell for F Lynch (6-7, blood)
Cottrell for O’Reilly (HT)
Billy Crowley for Butler (HT)
Fearghal Coughlan for Looney (HT)
Darragh Crowley for F Lynch (44)
Jeremy Hurley for Walsh (49)

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Aghada)

Controversy reigns as Galway senior hurling championship quarter-final requires replay

13-man South Kerry through to provincial semi-final despite injury to Young

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: