Dublin: 21°C Sunday 14 August 2022

Division 1A HL: Cork comfortable winners against Tipperary

Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s side got their league campaign off to an impressive start in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Cork's Conor O'Sullivan in action tonight.
Cork's Conor O'Sullivan in action tonight.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Cork 0-26
Tipperary 1-11

The Division 1A hurling league campaign began in a dream fashion for Cork tonight in Páirc Uí Rinn while Tipperary were forced to endure a miserable experience in their opener.

New Tipperary boss Eamonn O’Shea took the reins for the first time in a league game but saw his side comprehensively outplayed by Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s team as they slumped to a 0-14 to 0-2 deficit at the interval.

6,381 punters were present for this floodlit clash but it was Cork’s hurling that was most illuminating in the opening period when they essentially settled this game.

They shipped the opening point of the tie to a Noel McGrath free and the last point of the half to John O’Dwyer from play, but in between reeled off 14 points without reply.

Glen Rovers sharpshooter Patrick Horgan, who amassed 0-13 overall, lead the way, while midfielder Daniel Kearney also excelled and the defensive trio of Shane O’Neill, Christopher Joyce and William Egan helped ensure they gave little away at the back.

Cork’s explosive start saw them lead by 0-9 to 0-1 in the 16th minute and although the game then descended into a lull as there was a scoring drought for 11 minutes, Cork finished the half strongly to hold a commanding 12-point advantage.

By the 49th minute Cork were 0-19 to 0-3 clear yet Tipperary did manage to chip away at the deficit with substitutes Lar Corbett, Jason Forde and Adrian Ryan all on target. They trimmed the gap to 0-20 to 0-8 by the midway point of the second-half but then Cork took over again with Horgan on fire up front.

Eoin Kelly wriggled clear to shoot home a late goal for Tipperary but it was a consolation effort as Cork cantered to a 12-point win as they got their spring season off to splendid start.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-13 (0-9f),  Daniel Kearney 0-3, Stephen Moylan 0-2, Christopher Joyce, William Egan, Lorcan McLoughlin, Michael Walsh, Conor Lehane, Cian McCarthy, Paudie O’Sullivan, Luke O’Farrell 0-1 each.
Scorers for Tipperary: Eoin Kelly 1-0, John O’Dwyer, Noel McGrath (0-3f) 0-3 each, Lar Corbett, Jason Forde 0-2 each, Adrian Ryan 0-1.

CORK: Anthony Nash (Kanturk); Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); Stephen White (Ballygarvan), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), William Egan (Kilbrin); Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk); Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne), Conor Lehane (Midleton); Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Luke O’Farrell (Midleton), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers).

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

Subs: Tom Kenny (Grenagh) for Kearney (60), Michael Walsh (Kildorrery) for McLoughlin (63), Adrian Mannix (Kilworth) for O’Farrell (67).

TIPPERARY: Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon Grange); Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Conor O’Brien (Eire Og Annacarty Donohill); Donagh Maher (Burgess), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh); Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) Captain, Johnny Ryan (Drom and Inch); Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Patrick Maher (Lorrha and Dorrha); Shane Bourke (JK Brackens), Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch).

Subs: Adrian Ryan (Templederry) for Ryan (26), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields) for Callanan (33), Jason Forde (Silvermines) for Patrick Maher (half-time), Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) for O’Meara (45), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) for Stapleton (60).

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)

Division 1B HL: Dublin survive Dooley-inspired Offaly comeback at Parnell Park

Division 2 FL: Louth too strong for Galway

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: